Wiki Posts
Search

Christmas cracker headache

Search this Thread

Old Dec 9, 2015, 5:45 am
Original Poster

Programs: AY+, HH Gold
Christmas cracker headache

Firstly, hi! Newbie here, although I've lurked around a while.

I live in London and am flying to Helsinki for Christmas later this month, and was hoping to again take some christmas crackers with me.

Last year I called Finnair UK customer services and they said I can put them in my hold luggage, and that they need to be in their original box, and commercially manufactured (I don't know if homemade christmas crackers are a huge thing, it sounds like a bad idea!). The person on the line had to do some digging to get the answer. When I arrived at LHR, I heard the check in agent talk to another customer, saying the same and adding that only one pack per traveller were allowed.

This was in contrast to the website Finnair homepage refers to, when you want to see what is allowed:
http://www.mitamukaanlennolle.fi/en/...istmas-cracker
On that page you are not allowed to bring christmas crackers at all.

LHR allows christmas crackers in hand luggage, but advises passengers to ask from their airlines, as they might have different rules.

So this year I thought I'd call Finnair again, in case the policy has changed. I heard the agent type something on the computer, and the reply was that they are not allowed at all. I told her that last year the policy was different (and that BA allows them) and so she offered to ask her supervisor. The reply was that last year some BA flights had a few special flights on which christmas crackers were allowed, and that maybe I was on one of them. This was very odd, as even last year BA had the same policy as this year - ok in hold luggage. And I didn't fly with BA last year either.