Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Emirates | Skywards
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 18, 07, 6:53 am   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Seat Selection on New Emirates Web Site

Is it still possible to select seats in advance using the new Emirates web site?
famosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 07, 10:13 am   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York, NY
Programs: Aeroplan E35K, BA Silver
Posts: 9,464
Yes + you can now select seats in economy class.

cheers,
sadiqhassan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 07, 12:39 am   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
I recently bought a Economy Class ticket for Christmas and tried to make a Seat Request on the new website, but it says "Not Applicable" and won't let me choose seats.

I don't have a Frequent Flyer Program on my booking -- is that why it won't let me choose seats? I thought the new website would let me choose seats even if I don't have a FFP number.
darkavenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 07, 11:43 am   #4
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Programs: UA-Silver, TK-Elite, Hilton-Diamond, Starwood-Gold
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkavenger View Post
I recently bought a Economy Class ticket for Christmas and tried to make a Seat Request on the new website, but it says "Not Applicable" and won't let me choose seats.

I don't have a Frequent Flyer Program on my booking -- is that why it won't let me choose seats? I thought the new website would let me choose seats even if I don't have a FFP number.
I'm having the same problem. All I could do is call the reservations and request seats, but they aren't ones that I want.
NW-A332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 07, 12:41 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
I'm having the same problem. All I could do is call the reservations and request seats, but they aren't ones that I want.
Do you have EK Skywards, or some other FFP Number on your reservation?
darkavenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 07, 1:28 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Malaysia
Programs: Skywards, Qmiles, Miles&More, Enrich
Posts: 311
I don't think that you need to be a Skywards member. I booked an EK flight for my sister on Y last week (she's not a member) and not only can I make online seat selection, I came back later to the booking and changed the seat selections again. Other than seat selection, you can also choose special meals as well

Go to "Manage a Booking" tab, key in your last name & booking reference. It should be able to see your booking. Maybe the problem is the website is still new and there are still some bugs that needs to be ironed out.
krazykat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 07, 1:42 pm   #7
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Programs: UA/CO(1K-PLT), AA(PLT), QR, EK, Marriott(PLT), Hilton(DMND)
Posts: 9,539
I had the same problem with seats as some other posters here. I have four bookings for Dec/Jan and I was determined to make this seat allocation tool work! This is what eventually worked for me...

1) Go into "Manage a Booking"
2) Enter another airline's FF# (I used a United MP#)
3) Exit Booking
4) Re-enter "Manage a Booking"
5) Click "Add" under seat request.
6) Exit Booking

No matter what I did, I could not make a seat assignment with my Skywards acct added to the reservation. Also, I couldn't (and still can't) enter my API info succesfully and eventually had to call EK for that.
PhlyingRPh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 07, 3:10 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
krazykat: Did you make the reservation online? Is there any FF# on the reservation (you said there was no Skywards)?

PhlyingRPh: So you're saying we still do need a FF# on the reservation to get seat assignments.

I'm hoping to get seat assignments without using a FF#. The reason for that is I'm not sure yet if I want to claim the miles on EK or on UA.
darkavenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 07, 7:24 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Southern California
Programs: AA Platinum, UA Silver, VX Silver, EK and WN. Marriott Gold, Fairmont, Hilton and Hyatt.
Posts: 595
From what I can tell, you need a FFN on the reservation of some sort for advanced seat selection on the web. I think only one person on the locator reservation needs to have it, and everyone on the reservation can pick a seat based on experience.

Rasheed
rasheed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 07, 8:34 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Programs: UA-Silver, TK-Elite, Hilton-Diamond, Starwood-Gold
Posts: 456
I wonder if you have to have bought the ticket online because my ticket was purchased on expedia and my itinerary contains an airline other than Emirates. That is my guess as to why I can't select seats.
NW-A332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 07, 10:34 pm   #11
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Programs: UA/CO(1K-PLT), AA(PLT), QR, EK, Marriott(PLT), Hilton(DMND)
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkavenger View Post
krazykat: Did you make the reservation online? Is there any FF# on the reservation (you said there was no Skywards)?

PhlyingRPh: So you're saying we still do need a FF# on the reservation to get seat assignments.

I'm hoping to get seat assignments without using a FF#. The reason for that is I'm not sure yet if I want to claim the miles on EK or on UA.
I spent a lot more time than I should have dinking around w/ the new website and I found that only by entering a FFN could I access the seat assignment page.
PhlyingRPh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 07, 11:05 am   #12
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Malaysia
Programs: Skywards, Qmiles, Miles&More, Enrich
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkavenger View Post
krazykat: Did you make the reservation online? Is there any FF# on the reservation (you said there was no Skywards)?
Yes, I made the booking online for my sister who doesn't have an FF# via the new website 2 weeks ago. Just made a dummy booking without any FF# and I could select my seats at the end of the process. I don't know why it didn't work for the others.
krazykat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 07, 7:18 pm   #13
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Southern California
Programs: AA Platinum, UA Silver, VX Silver, EK and WN. Marriott Gold, Fairmont, Hilton and Hyatt.
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by NW-A332 View Post
I wonder if you have to have bought the ticket online because my ticket was purchased on expedia and my itinerary contains an airline other than Emirates. That is my guess as to why I can't select seats.
No, not a problem either. I worked on a AF/DL/EK reservation that was done on Cheaptickets and using the EK booking code, I was able to select seats as long as there was a FFN number. This was also an e-ticket by the way and DL was the issuing airline.

Did you call EK to add your FFN? -- I did not expect the online travel agency to transfer the FFN properly.

Rasheed
rasheed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 07, 7:19 pm   #14
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Southern California
Programs: AA Platinum, UA Silver, VX Silver, EK and WN. Marriott Gold, Fairmont, Hilton and Hyatt.
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazykat View Post
Yes, I made the booking online for my sister who doesn't have an FF# via the new website 2 weeks ago. Just made a dummy booking without any FF# and I could select my seats at the end of the process. I don't know why it didn't work for the others.
Ah, okay. I am referring to reservations not made at emirates.com.

Rasheed
rasheed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 07, 9:45 pm   #15
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Programs: UA-Silver, TK-Elite, Hilton-Diamond, Starwood-Gold
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by rasheed View Post
No, not a problem either. I worked on a AF/DL/EK reservation that was done on Cheaptickets and using the EK booking code, I was able to select seats as long as there was a FFN number. This was also an e-ticket by the way and DL was the issuing airline.

Did you call EK to add your FFN? -- I did not expect the online travel agency to transfer the FFN properly.

Rasheed
This is the exact same situation as mine. Our itinerary has AF/EK/DL booked on expedia. I can access the reservation on emirates.com and add and change everything but seats. It is the only option that shows "not available" or something similar. I can add FFN, meal requests, and contact info, but not seats.
NW-A332 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:08 am.