Search

ALS Travel Advice

Search this Thread

Old Jan 9, 2008, 5:01 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: La Ministreuse de Surréalisme, CO Plat, MR Plat, SPG Plat
ALS Travel Advice

We have a close friend who has ALS and it is getting increasingly worse. He is still traveling and has some upcoming trips, four of which I'll be at part of the time - three domestic and one international.

He has a new walker with a seat; a wheelchair; electric cart available for longhauls (Mr. Baglady just got him a cup holder for the walker because he just had his coffee cup in his basket and he was worried it would tip over).

I have plenty of wheelchair experience but none with ALS. Any tips for helping his travel?
Old Jan 9, 2008, 6:00 pm

Programs: Flying Blue Elite Plus, *A Gold Elite, American AAdvantage, Marriott Rewards, Hyatt Platinum
As someone with more experience of ALS than she cares to have, I would caution against air travel with ALS. As it gets worse, mobility is seriously affected as are the muscles of the mouth. This affects swallowing (including saliva control) and speech.

Tips for comfort, definitely blankets and extra socks for his legs to keep him warm. Depending on his speech, there are aids available to help with that. Obviously checking that the aircraft are disability friendly, a poster on TA recently posted about AA flights not having the promised disability friendly facilities (swivel armrests and accessible restrooms).

Most important thing to remember is to help preserve his dignity. ALS is a disease of the body not the mind.
Old Jan 9, 2008, 8:12 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Shesells, thank you for your wonderful reply. He really wants to keep traveling so at least for the next three months, he is planning to do that. Your tips were much appreciated.

He is handling it quite well, and has been great about talking about ALS and what he's going through which I think is very important to him.