Wiki Posts
Search

GUC for Australia flights

Search this Thread

Old Nov 25, 2015, 7:28 am
Original Poster

Programs: Delta DM 1 MM HH Gold Marriott Gold IHG Spire
GUC for Australia flights

New DM here so I have no experience with GUCs. My girlfriend and I want to go to Australia next fall and the deal is she'll pay for the coach flights from LAX and I'll apply the GUCs so that we can both fly in business. Neither of us want to take the risk of being waitlisted (and having to endure 15 hours in coach). 100% of my business travel is domestic so I wouldn't use them for any other flight. Does anyone have an opinion on the odds of me finding flights where the GUC will clear at booking? When calling the DM line is it a situation where you can be on the phone for hours while the agent looks for flights where the GUC clears at booking? We will have a lot of flexibility with dates but if I hear that the odds aren't great for immediate clearance into business I probably won't choose this gift. Thank you!
Old Nov 25, 2015, 7:38 am

Programs: Delta PM
Your assumption of 'how it'll work on the phone' is right.

Last year I called the Diamond line and had my ideal dates for ATL-JNB. I asked if those dates had OP availability so that my GUC would clear while we were on the phone. My return date worked immediately, but I had to move my departure date one day forward. It took maybe 10 minutes. But yes, if you aren't so lucky, it's just hanging there while they check day after day after day after day.

Still, it's worth it if you can find availability. 15+ hours up front is a dream.
Old Nov 25, 2015, 7:48 am

Programs: DL DM, GOES
Originally Posted by southpaw1227
15+ hours up front is a dream.
I'll call it more "a necessity for sanity".

Anything over 5 hours in a metal tube ain't my idea of a dream, ain't no matter where mah butt is sitting. I did southern India earlier this year... 2 legs, 10 hours each. All first on AF. It still sucked. lol
Old Nov 25, 2015, 8:29 am