Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 10, 10, 11:45 am   #1
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Programs: Delta, Hilton, Hertz
Posts: 175
Delta boarding pass question? PREM

So I just printed my boarding pass and it says PREM under seat 6A within the box. What does this mean?
micstatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 10, 11:57 am   #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DAB and MCO
Programs: DL DM; UA PLT
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by micstatic View Post
So I just printed my boarding pass and it says PREM under seat 6A within the box. What does this mean?
I think that is when you are in the PREM (1st class) cabin...
According to the conversation here...

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta...l#post14002357

Are you on a 757/767/777?
sterno24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 10, 12:07 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NoVa/DC
Programs: DL DM, Fairmont Platinum, Hilton Gold, SPG Gold, Disney Platinum ;)
Posts: 960
Oh fancy looks like the new boarding zones are printing right then.

PREM boards before zone 1.
__________________
This policy change was not an easy decision but it was the right one. We love to fly, and it shows!
iamhereandthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 10, 1:38 pm   #4
fti
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MN
Programs: DL GM, lots of other programs
Posts: 11,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamhereandthere View Post
PREM boards before zone 1.
So "zone 0" .

Actually it is the best way for DL to cover themselves since they announced Sky Priority and all DM/PM/GM allowed to board in Zone 1. Those in F/C rebelled loudly, so DL backtracked and said they will allow F/C pax to board first after all. But since now they can't tell DM/PM/GM that they can no longer board in Zone 1, they made a Zone 0. snafu.
__________________
My flight memory since 2006: http://my.flightmemory.com/friend1979
fti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 10, 3:27 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: TUS
Programs: DL DM, CO Plat, SC, Marriott Plat
Posts: 139
OK. I have PREM on both my boarding passes tomorrow. Just thinking of possibilities: Premium, premier, premature, premise, prema donna?

(Yes, I know how to spell prima donna!)
milesho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 10, 3:28 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MSP
Programs: DL DM, Marriott Plat, National Exec Elite
Posts: 1,308
Another cluster on DL 1678 ATL-MSP, had PREM and sitting in FC, but the GA decided it was best to just call zone 1, 70 people rushed the GA. i am glad after 10 days they still do it the old way. As well the flight that came in from DFW sat and waited 5 or so minutes until he wondered back to go down and operate the jetbridge.
MNAudiS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 10, 3:53 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA/Los Angeles, CA/Milan, Italy
Programs: AA EXP, DL DM MM, BIS MM, EK Gold, SPG Gold, HH Gold, Priority Club Gold/IC Ambassador
Posts: 3,898
I have yet to have PREM print on my boarding pass, even today. Really awful for GA's to not do it right and calll Zone 1 ATL-LAX and not PREM then Zone 1. Whats the point in changing the system if you dont enforce it? Its a joke.
__________________
Flight memory:http://my.flightmemory.com/DLATL777
2012/13 BIS: 386,052. 2014 BIS: 119,868.
DLATL777 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 10, 3:55 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SEA/NYC. DL DM charter member, UA 1K, NW Plat ('03-'09), Marriott Plat. Always somewhere, never anywhere...
Posts: 6,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterno24 View Post

Are you on a 757/767/777?
FYI, "PREM" on the boarding pass is not specific to plane type. It is supposed to be printed when the passenger is confirmed in First Class (either paid or upgrade).

I had a MD88 flight to DTW just now and PREM was printed on my boarding pass. It's also printed on my connection which is a 757 (I'm confirmed in first on that one, too).

-RM
__________________
2014: UA 80% (31/39); DL 100% (1/1)
2013: UA 85% (56/66); DL 80% (8/10); AS 25% (1/4)
RobOnLI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 10, 6:04 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DAB and MCO
Programs: DL DM; UA PLT
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobOnLI View Post
FYI, "PREM" on the boarding pass is not specific to plane type. -RM
oh yeah...understood.

Just verifying that when the OP said seat 6A...that PREM indeed meant up front for them...and wasn't meaning something else for some reason.

Flew 2 legs on Sunday (6/6) up in front...

Zone 1...no PREM printed on both my boarding passes. Just haven't seen it yet.
sterno24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 10, 7:06 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Programs: Delta, Hilton, Hertz
Posts: 175
[quote=sterno24;14113185]oh yeah...understood.

Just verifying that when the OP said seat 6A...that PREM indeed meant up front for them...and wasn't meaning something else for some reason.

yep, I'm first on a 757. Thanks for the answers guys.
micstatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 10, 6:24 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MIA/FLL
Programs: DL Diamond, HHonors Diamond, Marriott Rewards Platinum, AAdvantage Gold
Posts: 27
"PREM" appears on boarding pass

I just checked in for a flight tomorrow and saw that instead of a zone number, "PREM" appears on my bp. However, on the second leg of my itinerary, my BP says Zone 1.

I had a flight last week and didn't see "PREM" (same flight as tomorrow).

Does anyone know what this is? I assume it stands for Premium, but is that part of SKy Priority or something else? And how come it only appears on one of my BPs?
CulturalGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 10, 6:27 pm   #12
Talkboard Member & FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Durham, NC (RDU/GSO/FAY)
Programs: AA, DL, UA General Member, BW Gold, HH Gold, Amtrak Select Plus
Posts: 18,085
Are you in First or Business on your first leg and Coach on your second one?
__________________
- If you like an entity it's okay to admit they do some things wrong
- If you don't like an entity it's okay to admit they do some things right
CMK10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 10, 6:34 pm   #13
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MIA/FLL
Programs: DL Diamond, HHonors Diamond, Marriott Rewards Platinum, AAdvantage Gold
Posts: 27
Yes- I was upgraded on my first leg and second leg doesnt offer Biz/FC (Its a regional plane). Just curious if this was new because as I mentioned, I was booked on this same flight last week and "PREM" didnt appear and I was also in Biz.
CulturalGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 10, 6:41 pm   #14
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ATL
Programs: Delta Gold, EVA Diamond
Posts: 3,234
"PREM" on my BPs also.

Boths flights had an equipment change if ths matters.

Int. M tick upgraded with miles to Z

BTW, it also shows "NO MILES/UPG" under my name status. I do hope this means some code "NO" + "Miles/Upg".
exwannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 10, 10:32 pm   #15
fti
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MN
Programs: DL GM, lots of other programs
Posts: 11,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by CulturalGuru View Post
Yes- I was upgraded on my first leg and second leg doesnt offer Biz/FC (Its a regional plane).
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobOnLI View Post
FYI, "PREM" on the boarding pass...is supposed to be printed when the passenger is confirmed in First Class (either paid or upgrade).
PREM won't appear on the cnx with no F/J class.
__________________
My flight memory since 2006: http://my.flightmemory.com/friend1979
fti is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 1:42 am.