Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 29, 12, 6:42 am   #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Programs: DL GM - That means having a gold DL Amex card right?
Posts: 355
ATL Sky Priority Lane

Where in ATL is the sky priority lane at security?
vincentharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 6:49 am   #2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,439
South Security.. Use at your own risk.

If you have PreCheck it's at South Security too.. but if I don't get the three beeps I backtrack to main which is faster (more check points, fewer Diamonds thinking "they didn't mean "I" have to empty my pockets" I have never understood how you could get to that level and not understand how to go through security!)
OrangeCountyCommuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 7:37 am   #3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Programs: DL PM, AMEX Plat
Posts: 133
If you don't get the three beeps be prepared for a long wait.
benrules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 8:44 am   #4
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Programs: DL
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by benrules View Post
If you don't get the three beeps be prepared for a long wait.
Probably the most nervous I ever get in my life is the millisecond between scanning and hearing the beeps.
nichojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 11:44 am   #5
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Programs: Delta PM, Hyatt Diamond, Hertz PC, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 91
The main security usually has a sky priority line next to the disabled persons line. That may only be open on Monday mornings or other high traffic times. If I don't get 3 beeps, I just go to that line.
mr_burdell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 11:49 am   #6
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LAX/PIT
Programs: AA EXP, DL PM, UA urine (PP), A3 *G, Hyatt Dia, AmEx Plat, *$G (Starbucks Gold)
Posts: 4,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by benrules View Post
If you don't get the three beeps be prepared for a long wait.
Not if everyone gets 3 beeps ...

I used SP lane today around 7:20am, there was a longer line for PreCheck than there was for nonPreCheck. In fact, the guy behind me didn't get 3 beeps while I did, and we exited security right at the same time.
__________________
I post on HackMyTrip | Twitter: @PointsToPointB | Trip Report: Singapore Airlines A380 Suites/NEW 77W First Class
amolkold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 12:39 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Programs: Delta PM, Hyatt Diamond, Hertz PC, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by amolkold View Post
Not if everyone gets 3 beeps ...

I used SP lane today around 7:20am, there was a longer line for PreCheck than there was for nonPreCheck. In fact, the guy behind me didn't get 3 beeps while I did, and we exited security right at the same time.
All the flights up the east coast being canceled seemed to make all the lines shorter today. On a normal Monday morning at 6-6:30am, the precheck line is faster even if it's longer.
mr_burdell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 12:43 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Davis, CA
Programs: DL GM, Marriott Plat, HHonors Gold
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by benrules View Post
If you don't get the three beeps be prepared for a long wait.
Scan your BP beforehand and find out if it has a 3 in the last field. Then you don't waste time at Hartsfield to find that out.
ElPresidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 2:49 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MSP
Programs: Delta Platinum, Amtrak Guest Rewards, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElPresidente View Post
Scan your BP beforehand and find out if it has a 3 in the last field. Then you don't waste time at Hartsfield to find that out.
Where do you scan it and get the output?

PP
pogopossum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 3:23 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Davis, CA
Programs: DL GM, Marriott Plat, HHonors Gold
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by pogopossum View Post
Where do you scan it and get the output?

PP
The barcode on your boarding pass is apparently plaintext, and the last field is either a 1 or a 3 for the number of beeps.

http://puckinflight.wordpress.com/20...-check-system/

I've got barcode reader software on my iPhone, when I get home I'll try it out on a stack of old boarding passes I have.
ElPresidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 3:31 pm   #11
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis, originally from Cincinnati
Programs: Diamond with Delta, Hyatt and Hilton. 2 MM and Plat with America (thank you citi:))
Posts: 2,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElPresidente View Post
The barcode on your boarding pass is apparently plaintext, and the last field is either a 1 or a 3 for the number of beeps.

http://puckinflight.wordpress.com/20...-check-system/

I've got barcode reader software on my iPhone, when I get home I'll try it out on a stack of old boarding passes I have.
How can you scan your BP to find out what the numbers are? Mine on my iphone are a QCR code and on a paper pass a regular barcode with no numbers. Not sure how I can figure out what the numbers would be if it was scanned.
ILovetheReds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 3:58 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Davis, CA
Programs: DL GM, Marriott Plat, HHonors Gold
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILovetheReds View Post
How can you scan your BP to find out what the numbers are? Mine on my iphone are a QCR code and on a paper pass a regular barcode with no numbers. Not sure how I can figure out what the numbers would be if it was scanned.
Is it QR or something else? I'm no expert, but looking at my recent Electronic Boarding Passes, it doesn't have the 3 boxes in corners I am used to seeing on QR codes. It has a set of nested boxes in the middle, which from a little reading leads to some company called NeoMedia that calls it a 2D barcode.

Anyhow I downloaded a free app just now called NeoReader for my iPhone.

I didn't see any easy way to tell NeoReader to look directly at the EBP, so I cheated a bit. Went to my EBP, then copied the image into my photos. Emailed myself a copy of the image and printed it. Put the printout in front of NeoReader and voila! Then I thought about and realized I could bring up the EBP using the URL string in any browser, and just scan that directly from iPhone app without using a printout. So I brought up the EBP on my MacBook browser, scanned the screen with NeoReader, and that worked fine too.

There was a bunch of flight data, and later in the data the only single-digit value surrounded by blanks was a 3. So from that I understand that this EBP would have generated 3 beeps for PreCheck.

Easy peasy.

Last edited by ElPresidente; Oct 29, 12 at 4:50 pm.
ElPresidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 12, 6:05 pm   #13
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Um...I don't remember. I need to check my boarding pass.
Programs: Lots of shiny cards
Posts: 14,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by amolkold View Post
Not if everyone gets 3 beeps ...

I used SP lane today around 7:20am, there was a longer line for PreCheck than there was for nonPreCheck. In fact, the guy behind me didn't get 3 beeps while I did, and we exited security right at the same time.
Was like that on Thursday evening as well - PreCheck line was all the way out to the barcode reader. SkyPriority line looked to be much shorter.

Of course, I'll still take PreCheck just so I don't need to deal with opt-outs and taking my stuff out, etc.
__________________
The comments and opinions expressed here are my own, and are not an official representation of Delta Air Lines.
mersk862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 12, 9:22 am   #14
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Metro Detroit
Programs: DL KM
Posts: 618
http://online-barcode-reader.inliter...m/default.aspx

upload your boarding pass to that site and pick the type of barcode you want to examine, and it returns all of the info on the barcode in plain text.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ILovetheReds View Post
How can you scan your BP to find out what the numbers are? Mine on my iphone are a QCR code and on a paper pass a regular barcode with no numbers. Not sure how I can figure out what the numbers would be if it was scanned.
Easy Victor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 12, 10:12 am   #15
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NYC
Programs: DL Platinum, HH Gold, SPG Gold, VS Silver
Posts: 41
Agreed, ATL was my home airport for a very long time and I still regularly fly through there - take a look at South but often, main security is the fastest way to go. IMHO entering on the right side is also usually fastest as big groups and military usually enter on the left.
driveafastercar is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27 pm.