Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 18, 12, 11:43 am   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Salt lake City, UT
Programs: DL Diamond & Million Miler, Hilton Diamond, Starwood Platinum, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 107
TSA Pre-Check Program coming to Salt Lake City

looking at the SLC Airport website and saw the following:

This will be great for those Monday Morning flights!

http://www.slcairport.com

TSA Pre-Check Program

The Transportation Security Administration's new expedited passenger screening program will be tested in Salt Lake City in mid-February. For more information visit: http://www.delta.com or http://www.tsa.gov.
__________________
Location: Salt Lake, UT
Programs: Delta DM MM, Starwood PM
SLC 4217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 12, 9:58 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Royal Oak, MI, USA
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 51
The Definitive "Delta - TSA Pre-Check" thread

Frequent DTW flyer.
Have Nexus and Global Entry.
Have entered my Global Entry # in DL Traveler info.
Received e-mail from Delta and opted in.

Do I need a further authorization to use TSA pre check line at DTW.
Is there a random authorization to use the lane indicated on my BP somewhere.
I have flown out of DTW at least 12 times since inception of program and have never been offered use of Pre Check line.

Can I just enter Pre Check line and take my chances.
Appeciate hearing what others experience has been at DTW.

DTW_newbie

Folks,
Please use this master thread for all of you comments and issues pertaining to Delta and the TSA Pre-Check as there is no reason to have multiple threads on the very same subject.
Thanks, RSSrsvp - Moderator

Last edited by RSSrsvp; Nov 16, 13 at 8:16 am.. Reason: Combined several existing Delta - TSA Pre-Check threads
DTW newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 12, 10:20 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Programs: CRJ-200 Detester, :rolleyes: Platinum
Posts: 1,564
Your boarding pass will be scanned at the checkpoint. If you qualify for Pre Check, you will be directed to the appropriate line. Selection for this new screening is supposedly random, so you are not automatically granted entrance every time just because of your credentials.
akonradi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 12:14 am   #4
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold, Amtrak, AA, BA, DL, UA
Posts: 1,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTW newbie View Post
Frequent DTW flyer.
Have Nexus and Global Entry.
Have entered my Global Entry # in DL Traveler info.
Received e-mail from Delta and opted in.
So you opted-in twice: once as a TT member, and again as a Delta PM? Usually people opt-in using only one method. This probably won't matter, but it is unusual.
__________________
My Flight Memory
14940674 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 6:22 am   #5
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beantown Emeritus; Red Sox Nation in perpetuity
Programs: Caldea.ad advantage
Posts: 4,465
I hold both credentials as well and am 99% on going through pre-check through DTW. It is supposedly based on their scan of your BP. The one time was a flight to AMS. YMMV.
PHLbuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 6:26 am   #6
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: Delta Kpyptonium
Posts: 715
I have GE, Nexus & GM & am 50/50 at DTW.
rubesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 7:35 am   #7
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: DTW
Programs: DL Gold Medallion
Posts: 932
Also, keep in mind the only checkpoint with a pre-check lane is the SkyPriority checkpoint on the north end of the upper level. None of the other checkpoints offer the option even if you are selected for it.
timf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 7:45 am   #8
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: RDU or ANC
Programs: 3MM/DM, Marriott Lifetime PM, Airtran Elite, Hilton Diamond, SPG Platinum
Posts: 1,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by timf View Post
Also, keep in mind the only checkpoint with a pre-check lane is the SkyPriority checkpoint on the north end of the upper level. None of the other checkpoints offer the option even if you are selected for it.
I'm not even sure you need to opt-in. I'm PM but haven't joined any of the NEXUS, GLOBAL plans but was selected in ATL on my last trip. Kinda surprised. The only membership I've had in the past was CLEAR (which hasn't come back to ATL yet).
__________________
2014 Upgrades 0 of 0 (0%)
2014 CRJ with no FC - 0. 2014 WFBF - 47
gator21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 7:54 am   #9
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MCO
Programs: DL DM/2.5MM, Marriott Lifetime PL, SPG PL + Lifetime Gold, Hilton Diamond, Natl Lifetime Exec Elite
Posts: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by gator21 View Post
I'm not even sure you need to opt-in. I'm PM but haven't joined any of the NEXUS, GLOBAL plans but was selected in ATL on my last trip. Kinda surprised. The only membership I've had in the past was CLEAR (which hasn't come back to ATL yet).
I am in the same boat. Only Clear but have been sent to the "no take off shoes, take baggie out of suitcase, or take coat & belt off" lane both times I have actually had to clear TSA in ATL since they started this program.
__________________
"If you don't read the newspaper you are uninformed, if you do read the newspaper you are misinformed". ~Mark Twain~
MM/PM widget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 9:09 am   #10
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: DTW
Programs: DL Gold Medallion
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by gator21 View Post
I'm not even sure you need to opt-in. I'm PM but haven't joined any of the NEXUS, GLOBAL plans but was selected in ATL on my last trip. Kinda surprised. The only membership I've had in the past was CLEAR (which hasn't come back to ATL yet).
I didn't say anything about opting in. My experience is the same as yours, minus CLEAR.
timf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 11:13 am   #11
LBJ
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 5,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by gator21 View Post
I'm not even sure you need to opt-in. I'm PM but haven't joined any of the NEXUS, GLOBAL plans but was selected in ATL on my last trip. Kinda surprised. The only membership I've had in the past was CLEAR (which hasn't come back to ATL yet).
You "opt-in" by entering your Secure Flight Passenger Data in your profile and checking the box to consent to Delta storing it and sharing it with the TSA. If you received the email about the PreCheck program, you have been preselected based on your Delta status and do not need to fill in a Known Traveler Number. Just your name, gender, and birthdate.
LBJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 11:53 am   #12
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Programs: UA Plat; DL GM 2MM
Posts: 6,387
Is PM/DM a requirement. I'm GM and have entered by GE number on my profile.
5khours is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 12:11 pm   #13
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 3,148
Boy, however it happens, it is great when it does!!!

I went through last time for the first time and loved it!
bubbashow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 12:17 pm   #14
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: MOB/PNS
Programs: DL Platinum Medallion, HHonors Diamond, MR Gold
Posts: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHLbuddy View Post
I hold both credentials as well and am 99% on going through pre-check through DTW. It is supposedly based on their scan of your BP. The one time was a flight to AMS. YMMV.
Only Domestic itineraries are eligible for this program.
LedgeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 12, 12:19 pm   #15
LBJ
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 5,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5khours View Post
Is PM/DM a requirement. I'm GM and have entered by GE number on my profile.
Did you get any of the emails about the program? Initially, it seemed like only PM's and DM's got the invitations, but more recently, there are Golds who have reported getting the emails. Also, if you have GE or Nexus, I don't believe you need to be pre-selected.
LBJ is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.