Search

Help planning a trip to Cuba

Search this Thread

Old Sep 16, 2015, 5:17 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Titanium, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Help planning a trip to Cuba

Hello,

I am planning on going to Cuba this upcoming spring and I would appreciate some help panning this trip.

First, I am a European Union passport holder but I am studying in Michigan. Closest airport to me are Detroit, Chicago, Windsor and London (Canada). I prefer ORD or DTW.
Will I have trouble getting back to the US after my trip? Immigration always asks me where I am coming from.

Second, I have been checking the prices and they are really cheap when booked in a flight + hotel configuration. I don't mind that but those are booked into the same hotel for the whole stay but I would like to visit a little more. Is there a website where I can book different hotel in a package configuration?

Ideally, I would visit Havana for 3 or 4 days then head to a resort on the beach for an additional 3 or 4 days.

I have a budget of 1500 / 2000 USD for flight, accommodation and expenses there.

Oh yeah and I forgot, I will travel alone from the US and a friend will join me from Europe.

Thanks!
Old Sep 16, 2015, 6:35 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: FB Silver going for Gold
At this point, it will still be cheaper and easier to fly from Canada. Flights from the US are still charters and require licensing and are fairly expensive (not to mention not available to non citizens/permanent residents).

A good site to use is Sunwing.ca (not to mention they as they buy a lot of rooms) offer some split package (typically X nights in Varadero + Y nights in Havana). I found hotel offerings in Havana to be somewhat dismal especially if you want to stay in Havana Vieja.

Sunwing flights are more limited however. Westjet has more "scheduled" service.