Reload this Page >

Using "Personal Cruise Consultant"

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Using "Personal Cruise Consultant"

Search this Thread

Old Sep 2, 2015, 9:57 pm

Programs: GE, AA PLT/2.6MM, BR Gld, Royal Carib. DM+, Celebrity Elite, NCL PLT, Princess Elite
Originally Posted by Randyk47
Of course there's always the dream that you book an inside cabin guarantee and get upgraded to the penthouse suite. I have a bridge in Brooklyn for sale that passenger might be interested in.
I've been a cruise travel agent for 14 years now, and I have seen that rare upgrade happen just once for a client, and that was just lowest inside category guarantee to balcony. I think I was more shocked than she was.

I have seen a ton of balcony to suite upgrades, but even those are happening less and less now as more cruise lines are playing the last minute upsell game instead of true upgrades.
Old Sep 3, 2015, 6:00 am

Programs: AA EXP, DL Silver, Global Entry
Originally Posted by ak333
I've been a cruise travel agent for 14 years now, and I have seen that rare upgrade happen just once for a client, and that was just lowest inside category guarantee to balcony. I think I was more shocked than she was.

I have seen a ton of balcony to suite upgrades, but even those are happening less and less now as more cruise lines are playing the last minute upsell game instead of true upgrades.
One of my favorite guarantee upgrade stories is a guy who posted a couple of years ago on the Holland America section of Cruise Critic that he and his wife would never cruise with Holland America again. His reason? He booked a inside guarantee cabin and that's what they cruised in. His interpretation of guarantee was that he was guaranteed to get a better cabin than they booked and didn't get one so they'd lied to or misled him.
Old Sep 3, 2015, 9:28 am