Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Paying college tuition & earning rewards

Search this Thread

Old May 10, 2009, 12:54 pm
Original Poster

Paying college tuition & earning rewards

I am a newbie and have been going crazy trying to decide which card to get so I decided to ask for help. I have excellent credit. We fly primarily for leisure, not that much but already have lots of United and USAir points. We will be paying for tuition on this card (so probably flying less) - so was thinking cash or a hotel program may be best. I know we got a 62500 HHonors offer, but heard Starwood may be better??? Was also wondering if Marriott is a good option.

Any suggestions? Thank you!
Old May 10, 2009, 1:36 pm
Suspended

Programs: United 1K, HHonors Gold, MR Gold
I have the Hilton Surpass Amex, Marriott Rewards Premier and Starwood Amex. I think a hotel-affiliated credit card is a good idea if you already have a lot of miles, especially if you like to experience a splurge from time to time by staying at high-end hotels. Which card is/cards are best for you depends to some extent on which hotel group suits your travel preferences/patterns best and also on your spending patterns.