Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Citi | ThankYou Rewards
Reload this Page >

Citibank PremierPlus Elite card recommendation

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Citibank PremierPlus Elite card recommendation

Search this Thread

Old Jan 15, 2005, 10:29 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA Life Plt, UA 1K, HH Diamond, SPG Gold
Citibank PremierPass Elite card recommendation

I've been using my new PremierPass Elite card for several months now, after using quite a few different reward cards over the years. I think this is the best rewards program out there, bar none.

First, a couple of negatives. The annual fee is $75. My first year's fee was waived, but I don't know if that's still part of the deal. However, the 15,000 point bonus after a first purchase takes care of the first few years of fees. Also, while the points can be used for tickets on any airline with no blackout dates, the points cannot be used to upgrade tickets. That didn't bother me, but you have to decide if that's important to you.

Now, some of the many positives. When you purchase air tickets with the card for anyone, you receive a point for every actual mile flown by the ticket user, in addition to the point/dollar for the cost of the ticket. That's over and above the FF miles you'll receive on your own flights in your airline's FF program. Also, double points for grocery, gas and pharmacy purchases. Also, an unlimited free companion ticket program for domestic flights. The paid ticket has to be $379 or more (a bit less in the "off" season). I've used this feature for two non-stop AA ORD/New Orleans tickets for a total cost of $400, much less than the lowest fare available otherwise. Purchasing the tickets was easy, and the selling agent was very helpful and friendly. That, too, justifies the annual card cost.