Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > China
Reload this Page >

Chinese Business Visa For Engineering Work UK Passport

Old Jul 16, 2015, 12:19 am
Original Poster

Programs: OWS IHG Diamond + Accor Plat, Scandic Top Level

Question: For a UK passport holder working on a short term commissioning project in China salaried in UK. Is there an upper age limit restriction recently imposed.
My colleges and I have been obtaining multi entry business visas for many years. Recently one work mate was refused and the TA said that the reason was due to him being over 60. Previously we have had many over 60's working in China on same visas, but this appears to have come out of the blue.

Anyone have any idea if this is correct?

Many thanks in advance
Old Jul 17, 2015, 10:15 pm

Programs: various
Originally Posted by Engineering Travel
Question: For a UK passport holder working on a short term commissioning project in China salaried in UK. Is there an upper age limit restriction recently imposed.
My colleges and I have been obtaining multi entry business visas for many years. Recently one work mate was refused and the TA said that the reason was due to him being over 60. Previously we have had many over 60's working in China on same visas, but this appears to have come out of the blue.

Anyone have any idea if this is correct?

Many thanks in advance

Starting about 5-6 years ago, it became increasingly difficult for >60's to get work visas for positions requiring formal work permits and residency...due to China's ridiculous retirement age that is currently 55 for women and 60 for men. They started to apply this not only to local Chinese but also to foreigners. It could be gotten around but needed to have a company with some clout, and some reasons why the "gray hair" expertise was particularly needed.

For business visas and short term visits, I had not heard this was an issue so I can only offer the following thoughts about what the problem might be: