Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > China
Reload this Page >

What to expect when arriving at PEK? Total newbie here.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 11, 2013, 8:44 pm
Original Poster

It's my first time flying internationally, alone at that, and I am looking for any advice (preferably really simplified/broken down advice) on what to expect when I arrive at PEK.

I keep reading online "You go through customs and pick up your baggage", but I am looking for more specific information. Is customs a room you go in? A line? A kiosk you stop at? Are there signs or guidelines posted so you know you're going the right way? I am only bringing a carry-on so I am unsure of how or if this will make a difference in the process.

If anyone can give me a ridiculously easy version of what to expect when I arrive at PEK from the US, I would be so grateful.
Old Jan 11, 2013, 10:21 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

I've never done an international arrival at PEK to comment on. Thus I'll give what I've encountered at PVG. It should be similar.

The first thing you encounter is a hoop rather like the WTMDs, there is a counter next to it. This is a nuke detector, normally everyone just streams through it, I have never seen a line there that was even 30 seconds. Note that there is no indication of it's nature, the only reason I know is that my wife tripped it once. It's Chinese security, though, not the TSA, she didn't get the third degree from them despite having left the card from the lab behind. (And note that she passed through two US airports without apparently setting off any alarms. It's possible that the US alarms are sophisticated enough to figure out identify it as Tc-99m and dismiss it {it's too short lived to be of any use to a terrorist} but I doubt it. I think this is just a case of them being ahead of us.)