Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Checkpoints and Borders Policy Debate
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 12, 12, 5:56 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Programs: hilton diamond,spg g, hyatt Diamond, Medallion Silver, mnm senator, Hertz Pres Circle, Taj IC Gold
Posts: 684
TSA refusing GE Cards for security checkpoints

4 times in the last week my GE card has been refused as id proof by TSA. They wanted a passport or DL. Finally today at MCI I asked for a supervisor an he said they've been told a few days ago that GE cards are no longer valid for ID proof.
I've not checked TSA's website to see if its true.
Any body else have any ideas on this?

Thx.
__________________
si tacuisses, philosophus mansisses
rsh913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 12, 5:58 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Programs: hilton diamond,spg g, hyatt Diamond, Medallion Silver, mnm senator, Hertz Pres Circle, Taj IC Gold
Posts: 684
It seems GE card is no longer listed on TSA's website.

http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtrav...documents.shtm

DHS "Trusted Traveler" cards (NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
__________________
si tacuisses, philosophus mansisses
rsh913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 12, 6:01 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsh913 View Post
4 times in the last week my GE card has been refused as id proof by TSA. They wanted a passport or DL. Finally today at MCI I asked for a supervisor an he said they've been told a few days ago that GE cards are no longer valid for ID proof.
I've not checked TSA's website to see if its true.
Any body else have any ideas on this?

Thx.
seems incorrect to me... As far as i know not only is it an acceptable form of ID, but its also going to be worked into the new Pre-Check program. certainly there is a preferance towards passports and Driver's licenses, as since they are familiar documents they are easier to verify...if this has changed, its been very recent and they havent even told us yet.
spacev1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 12, 6:33 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacev1986 View Post
As far as i know not only is it an acceptable form of ID, but its also going to be worked into the new Pre-Check program.
It certainly is an acceptable ID, but I have never heard that it would be used in PreCheck. Since PreCheck encodes your BP, there is no need for a TT ID Card.

The thread below covers the same topic as this thread, but has been going since July of 2011:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/pract...-id-check.html
__________________
My Flight Memory
14940674 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 12, 6:36 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14940674 View Post
It certainly is an acceptable ID, but I have never heard that it would be used in PreCheck. Since PreCheck encodes your BP, there is no need for a TT ID Card.

The thread below covers the same topic as this thread, but has been going since July of 2011:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/pract...-id-check.html
Part of getting a trusted traveler card is undergoing a background check. If you have a GE card, youve had that, and as such, that makes you elligible for pre-check. Theres no need to physically present a TT card, correct... what i meant was that TT card holders are by very nature elligible for pre-check.
spacev1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 12, 6:44 pm   #6
TalkBoard Member, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.003MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 33,809
I have had mixed success, but the problems have been where TSA is unfamiliar with the GE card and I then offer my passport to move the line faster. Once they told me that it was fine since it was a government issued photo ID with an expiration date, as if that was the rule they had been taught.
MSPeconomist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 12, 7:37 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Park, Metropolis
Programs: AA EXP LP UA SILVER AA&UA CLUB National Car E Hilton GLD Hyatt PLT Club Carlson GE Marriott SLV
Posts: 1,709
Here is a kicker.

I'm licensed Customs Broker working for a a mid-size international freight forwarding company. In order to receive my broker's license, I had to go through US Customs background checks, finger printed and pass an exam. I'm also the license holder for my local branch, as such, I've had to receive a TSA approval for employment and to also allow entrance to the cargo area at the airport, this required an extensive background check including criminal, mental, and financial records. I have a TSA ID for my employment purpose, a copy of the TSA approval letter certifying my ID, brokers license, I also have GE, passport and DL. My TSA ID and letter means NOTHING when it comes to going through security lines. I asked a supervisor on it, and he told me that the ID is only good for cargo purpose only and its not recognize as a valid ID for traveling purpose.
I can literally walk on airport grounds, tarmac, cargo area, with my TSA ID as long as I'm "working" yet I'm not allowed to go through security when catching a flight. Even on my GE profile it clearly indicates that I'm a licensed broker.
You think you have it bad with your GE non approval, I've gone through 3 separate rounds of background checks, have to be re-certified every 3 years and that means nothing, nada, zilch when it comes to going through security.
Funny thing is that as part of my job, I'm also on the forefront of homeland security. Go figure.
__________________
Master of my thoughts, slave to my words....

Last edited by arollins; Jan 12, 12 at 7:40 pm. Reason: .
arollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 12, 8:56 am   #8
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Programs: DL GM, AA Plat, Hertz 5*
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsh913 View Post
It seems GE card is no longer listed on TSA's website.

http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtrav...documents.shtm

DHS "Trusted Traveler" cards (NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
It's never been listed there explicitly.
cestmoi123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 12, 3:48 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Programs: UA 1k, Marriott P
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by cestmoi123 View Post
It's never been listed there explicitly.
+1 it was never listed there, hence it was never officially accepted. I got through with it couple of times, but TSA was always surprised to see it.

So now it seems they clarified specifically that GE is not to be accepted.
dsauch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 12, 3:53 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsauch View Post
So now it seems they clarified specifically that GE is not to be accepted.
I don't think they have clarified anything; rather they have neglected to include the GE card in error. It is identical to the NEXUS and SENTRI cards, so there is no reason for them to officially not accept it.
__________________
My Flight Memory
14940674 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 12, 4:02 pm   #11
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 30 miles south IAD 1R
Posts: 20,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14940674 View Post
I don't think they have clarified anything; rather they have neglected to include the GE card in error. It is identical to the NEXUS and SENTRI cards, so there is no reason for them to officially not accept it.
Other than their manifest incompetence and stupidity as an organization, of course.
halls120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 12, 4:52 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 3,712
Sometimes when I show them the "Sentry" on the back, it helps. Sentry *is* listed on the TSA site.

At MIA last week, the TDC noted, "We just learned about these today". I was surprised that they didn't already know, since I thought MIA was one of the places where the GE card is supposed to allow you to go through without taking off your shoes. But looking at the website, I learned that it's just in the AA terminal where that's true, and I was flying DL.
aviators99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 12, 9:16 pm   #13
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: where the chile is hot
Programs: AA,RR,NW,Delta ,UA,CO
Posts: 14,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviators99 View Post
Sometimes when I show them the "Sentry" on the back, it helps. Sentry *is* listed on the TSA site.

At MIA last week, the TDC noted, "We just learned about these today". I was surprised that they didn't already know, since I thought MIA was one of the places where the GE card is supposed to allow you to go through without taking off your shoes. But looking at the website, I learned that it's just in the AA terminal where that's true, and I was flying DL.
I think there's some confusion.

The Pre-check program may allow you expedited screening (shoes on, laptops in bag, etc). That program is currently only available at certain airports at certain checkpoints for certain airlines. Currently, it doesn't matter which ID you present - the decision to let you through (or not) is contained in a barcode on your boarding pass. You may be allowed to use Pre-check even if you aren't a GE member.

AFAIK, GE, Sentri and Nexus holders all go through the same checks, so all of the IDs should be acceptable. The GE card is relatively new - there are GE members out there who enrolled in the program when it was new - they were never given a GE card and do not need the GE card to use the GE kiosks. They're still eligible for Pre-check, but currently that's only if they're flying the right airline at the right airport and the right checkpoints.
chollie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 12, 5:52 pm   #14
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: BOS
Programs: TSA TSO
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by chollie View Post
The GE card is relatively new.
Key phrase right there. Most likely when ever the TDC procedures get an update, it will be mentioned then.
LoganTSO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 12, 6:37 pm   #15
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: where the chile is hot
Programs: AA,RR,NW,Delta ,UA,CO
Posts: 14,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoganTSO View Post
Key phrase right there. Most likely when ever the TDC procedures get an update, it will be mentioned then.
Which should take how long? They're still not all up-to-date on NEXUS and it has been around for at least a couple years, if not longer.
chollie is online now   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 6:56 pm.