Wiki Posts
Search

Have you reduced your air travel?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 17, 2010, 1:22 pm
Original Poster

Have you reduced your air travel?

Greetings - new member here.

Just curious as to how much people are reducing their air travel when possible.
I'm a professional speaker living in Toronto. I used to take flights to the following cities: Ottawa, Montreal, Boston, NYC, Washington DC, Philly, Dayton, Chicago.

Over the past five years I now drive to these cities when I have the time and I'm not on a multi leg trip. Certainly a large part of the reason is security theatre, but also the increased time it takes to fly and the delays/cancelations , and the incredibly poor customer service practiced by all NA airlines.

In terms of time? It's almost a wash. Cab to airport 30 mins, 3 hours in advance of flight, 1-1.5 hr flight if no delays, 30-60 min to claim luggage, cab ride to venue 30-45 minutes... Total time? 5-7 hours... Not counting delays and cancellations --- Drive to NYC? 8-9 hours.

I hate being at someone else's mercy, I hate being nickeled and dimed at every turn, I hate them losing my luggage etc. Etc.

When I drive? I'm in control, carry as much stuff as I want, never lose my luggage, can eat when and what I want for less etc.etc

I've replaced at least 6-12 flights a year in this manner - sometimes as many as two dozen..

Anyone else? How many flights, if any, have you replaced with other transportation?
Old Nov 17, 2010, 1:24 pm

Programs: WN A-list, TSA-D Silver
Yep. I'm usually on four to eight flights a week. I haven't taken a single on this month. I'm looking to telecommute next month too. There's usually a lot of last minute booking in there too. Count the thousands it's costing.
Old Nov 17, 2010, 1:35 pm

Sho Nuff. Flying days are done until they step off the junk.
Old Nov 17, 2010, 2:06 pm

Programs: AA-Platinum,DL, UAL, HHonors-Diamond,IHG-Platinum