Go Back   > > >

Old May 19, 17, 5:54 pm   #1
Original Poster

Programs: Chase UR
Best way to use UR points to fly LAX to Hawaii?

Hello all,

Any help would be much appreciated because I'm a bit of a reward points rookie. I have been gathering up points for a couple of years, and now have a LOT of them. In the past 1-2 years I've been trying to use them but we haven't done too much travelling and I don't want to waste them on 1:1 ratio. I was waiting for a nice flight and maybe hotel stay.

We decided to do a few days in Hawaii. Pretty flexible in terms of dates, but ideally within June or July.

So, I was excited to use my many UR points to get it done... and so far it's not looking good. I can go and book through the UR portal - but that's a waste.. I'm better off converting to $$ and booking from anywhere, so I have more options. I then called up British Airways, because they're partnered with a few airlines and I know I can convert my points to BA points... but I was told that they have 0 availability for ANY days within June, July, or even August. I almost thought that the guy was kidding. I started by asking for Honolulu, but then proceeded to say ANY Hawaii airport. Nothing.

Any advice? I would like to get the flights (maybe even first class if it's a good deal) and then maybe hotels, though I know that the points don't go as far for hotel stays..

Let me know what you think.

Thank you very much in advance!
paralemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 17, 7:21 pm   #2

Check American's website for award availability in the Saver level. If it's available you should be able to book it with BA Avios for 25k round trip . Otherwise check United's website and see if they have Saver level availability. You can book with Singapore miles for 35k round trip. Another option is to check Delta for the lowest level availability and book with Korean miles for 25k round trip. Also you can mix and match with one ways depending on availability.