Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Chase | Ultimate Rewards
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 29, 12, 2:50 pm   #31
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BAY AREA
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrari_fan:18477483
Not sure if this was discussed already, but according to a thread on myfico JPM Select does not report to the CRAs.
It doesn't report balances or limits?
trikotret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 12, 4:14 pm   #32
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by trikotret View Post
It doesn't report balances or limits?
Did you read the thread I linked to? It is a hidden TL according to the posters, meaning nothing gets reported, it won't even show up in your credit report. Perhaps FTers who have this card can corroborate or refute this !
ferrari_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 12, 8:42 am   #33
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BAY AREA
Posts: 123
Has anyone been able to convert their regular sapphire card to JP Select?
trikotret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 12, 6:33 pm   #34
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Orlando
Programs: Delta Skymiles, Continental OnePass, Hilton Honors, Hertz Gold, National Emerald Club, Starwood SPG
Posts: 617
Anybody have luck with using the chip (not mag strip) in France? In particular, unmanned stations? I just got the card thinking it was Chip and PIN, but due to my.......well.....stupidity, I didn't realize there was a different path of Chip and Signature.
seminole_kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 12, 5:42 am   #35
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Diners Club
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami & London
Programs: AA 2MM Perpetual Platinum; HH & SPG Gold
Posts: 20,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by seminole_kev View Post
Anybody have luck with using the chip (not mag strip) in France?
You may find post 832 in this thread helpful:

USA issuers announce EMV cards (Chip & PIN -or- Chip & Signature).
mia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 12, 12:38 am   #36
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SFO
Programs: DL GM, SPG Gold, Hertz Gold, Amex Plat, JPM Select
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by seminole_kev View Post
Anybody have luck with using the chip (not mag strip) in France? In particular, unmanned stations? I just got the card thinking it was Chip and PIN, but due to my.......well.....stupidity, I didn't realize there was a different path of Chip and Signature.
I was just on a 2-week trip across western Europe, and I pretty much used the Select card the entire time. Of the cities I visited - London, Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam, Luzern, Frankfurt, and Barcelona - the only times that my card was either rejected or required a PIN was in Brussels, Amsterdam, Barcelona.

In London, I was able to purchase tickets and an Oyster card at an unmanned Underground kiosk, as well as successfully have it recognized as a chip&sig card at all manned POS around the city.

In Paris, I was able to purchase an 24-hour metro ticket at an unmanned kiosk in Paris Nord station. All manned POS systems recognized the card as chip&sig and the staff knew how to handle this type of card.

In Brussels, the unmanned metro kiosk rejected my card outright, never asking for a PIN. However, all manned POS systems correctly recognized the card as chip&sig and the staff knew how to handle this type of card.

In Amsterdam, an unmanned kiosk at a museum rejected my card outright, never asking for a PIN. However, all manned POS systems worked, and the staff knew how to handle a chip&sig card.

In Frankfurt, the unmanned DB kiosk rejected my card outright, never asking for a PIN. I did not have the opportunity to try this card at any museums or stores.

In Barcelona, the metro kiosk asked me for a PIN; pressing ENTER or typing in 0000 failed, but putting in my cash advance PIN (which I set-up before leaving) worked. The card worked correctly at all the museums I visited.

Still a mixed bag, but I was definitely better off with this card.

- Jason
inferno10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 12, 4:45 am   #37
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Orlando
Programs: Delta Skymiles, Continental OnePass, Hilton Honors, Hertz Gold, National Emerald Club, Starwood SPG
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by inferno10 View Post
I was just on a 2-week trip across western Europe, and I pretty much used the Select card the entire time.
Thanks guys for the feedback. Sounds like it will handle the bulk of the situations, and anything that can avoid the "theater" that is getting the person to go dust off the mag strip reader and find someone in the store who knows how to use it, is fine by me.

Last edited by mia; May 7, 12 at 6:51 am. Reason: Please do not quote the entire text of multi-paragraph posts
seminole_kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 12, 5:23 pm   #38
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: L.A.
Programs: WN A-list & CP, Delta GM
Posts: 417
Thanks for the detailed report!

Quote:
Originally Posted by inferno10 View Post
I was just on a 2-week trip across western Europe, and I pretty much used the Select card the entire time.

Last edited by mia; May 8, 12 at 7:07 am. Reason: Please do not quote the entire text of multi-paragraph posts.
leonard016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 12, 8:53 am   #39
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: CLT
Posts: 296
Chip

I also recently returned from Europe, and the chip in the card worked for the Gatwick express train in London and the Barclay's Cycle Hire bike rentals. It was nice having the peace of mind of primary car rental insurance in Romania.

I can also confirm the credit line does not appear on any of my credit reports, which is nice, as we're applying for a loan, and the $5k or so of vacation expenses we put on the card won't show up and potentially interfere with our loan approval.
jchock1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 12, 6:59 pm   #40
AAL
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Alaska
Programs: AS MVPG
Posts: 274
I just verified that my JP Morgan Select account does not appear on my credit report. The inquiry at the time I applied for the card last year appears, but that is all.

I used the card in france this summer and there were a few occasions where it was not accepted (one fuel pump, one toll booth, and one ticket kiosk), but it was accepted at one unattended gas station and anywhere there was a human. I was surprised at how many UR points I earned!
AAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 12, 2:46 am   #41
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MUC
Programs: UA 1k
Posts: 52
Can not product-convert to no-fee

I've had this card for 11 months, and have only used it a half-dozen times or so. Originally, I converted a no-fee Chase card into the Select, and called customer service to go back.

Unfortunately, it appears as though product changes back to a no-fee card are not possible once you're in the "JP Morgan family" so I'm left with the $95 annual fee. Looks like I'm going to give up the card, since I now live in Europe and have a proper (free) EMV card, denominated in Euro with DKB (http://dkb.de).

The CSR did offer to transfer the credit limit to my Sapphire card though, for what that's worth...
radioactive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 12, 9:25 am   #42
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Programs: SPG Gold, Alaska MVP, Hyatt Platinum, Marriott Gold Elite
Posts: 74
JP Morgan Select Visa and Chase Website

I have the JPM Select Visa and appreciate it most for the primary car rental coverage as well as the EMV chip. However, I noticed recently that Chase's website no longer lists the Select Visa among its card offerings as it used to. Only the JPM Palladium appears. Is the JPM Select no longer being offerred or promoted?
philwupdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 12, 10:35 am   #43
AAL
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Alaska
Programs: AS MVPG
Posts: 274
Interesting. I am probably going to cancel the card before my annual fee hits next month, and plan to call Chase soon. I wonder if they will tell me anything about the future of the card.

It's a fine card; I originally got it because of the chip and I used it quite a bit during a trip to France this year and was very happy with it. But now I have a real chip and PIN card from the State Dept FCU, as well as a Chase Hyatt card with a chip, and most of my spend goes on either the SPG Amex or on meeting bonuses for new cards. I use the Amex rental car insurance.

So, since I don't need the card for any reason, I can't justify paying the annual fee. I've cashed out my UR points in anticipation of canceling.
AAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 12, 12:52 pm   #44
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DCA/IAD
Programs: AS, US, Hilton, BA, DL, SPG, AA, VS
Posts: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by philwupdx View Post
I have the JPM Select Visa and appreciate it most for the primary car rental coverage as well as the EMV chip. However, I noticed recently that Chase's website no longer lists the Select Visa among its card offerings as it used to. Only the JPM Palladium appears. Is the JPM Select no longer being offerred or promoted?
I noticed this as well. I tweeted @ChaseSupport, and their response was that the card was temporarily unavailable online, but that I could go into a local branch and get info on the card. Frankly, I think the JPM Select's days are numbered. Once they put a chip on the Sapphire Preferred (if they ever get around to doing that), it'll be pretty much dead anyway.
LETTERBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 12, 9:19 am   #45
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: AA 2MM, Hyatt Plat, SPG Plat, National ES
Posts: 6,666
Anybody have the T&Cs for the auto coverage? Any limitations on countries and vehicles?
seawolf is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 7:34 pm.