FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Cathay Pacific | Cathay (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/cathay-pacific-cathay-487/)
-   -   Those fake BOSE Noise Reduction headsets (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/cathay-pacific-cathay/187991-those-fake-bose-noise-reduction-headsets.html)

Guy Betsy Jan 12, 2003 6:53 am

Those fake BOSE Noise Reduction headsets

Upon closer inspection, I realised that the BOSE look-a-like Noise Reduction headphones CX has in their new Biz and First class side armrests are in fact, NOT noise reduction at all.

They look like the BOSE headphones but the original has a side microphone on each earpiece ( as in all noise reduction headsets) to counter aircraft noise so that it will be muffed up. (Sorry I am not technical enough to give you the details). The CX ones look like they are made in China from some cheap plastic factory, and are definitely not Noise Cancelling.

Sure they cup over your ear so that you can hear the music better but they are not noise cancelling. Worse... the way the headphones are plugged into the seat, you can't even replace those with a decent set of your own! http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/frown.gif

whitters Jan 12, 2003 8:29 am

I noticed the same thing on my last flights. I can't tell you how disappointed I was - especially when somebody else in the cabin started snoring loudly. I was forced to resort to those orange 3M earplugs!

Incidentally, what is the correct way in which to deal with a snoring passenger? Ask a crew member to suffocate them?!

B Watson Jan 12, 2003 11:05 am

<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by Guy Betsy:
Worse... the way the headphones are plugged into the seat, you can't even replace those with a decent set of your own! http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/frown.gif</font>