Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Cathay Pacific | Asia Miles
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 19, 10, 5:14 am   #1
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: HKG
Programs: CX Diamond, BMI Gold, SPG Platinum, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 187
Upgrade on BA using BA miles BUT Earning on AM - is this possible or not?

Was wondering if it is possible to use BA miles to issue an upgrade (from WT+ to J) then remove my BA club number from the ticket but add my CX MPO number to the booking?

Anybody done this or something similar?
ajhira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 10, 5:21 am   #2
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: AA Lifetime PLT , BA Siver , BD RIP , HH Gold, SPG PLT,Marriott Silver,EP Subscriber
Posts: 6,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhira View Post
Was wondering if it is possible to use BA miles to issue an upgrade (from WT+ to J) then remove my BA club number from the ticket but add my CX MPO number to the booking?

Anybody done this or something similar?
Yes providing of course you book/ed through BA.com

Just phone them after you have arranged your upgrade.
__________________
R.I.P. AAdvantage OneWorld Explorer First Class AAwards the Best Deal in Frequent Flyer Redemption's. - Parker Must Go.
UncleDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 10, 7:25 pm   #3
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: YVR. Now@ EU
Programs: T.A.
Posts: 23,154
You have to ask BA to remove all traces of your FFP, and then no FFP showing on your BP. Then retroactively claim your miles manually to Asiamiles attaching a letter stating that you used BA miles to upgrade your flight, and that you actually have a revenue ticket (print e-ticket coupon showing fare basis, fare paid and fare calculation, and booking class on original).
Guy Betsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 10, 12:00 am   #4
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: HKG
Programs: CX Diamond, BMI Gold, SPG Platinum, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 187
Actually took a chance and went ahead with it - have a USA BA Exec account so in the US they are generally good about this sort of stuff and the lady issued the upgrade for me then changed it to my MPO number... supposedly... I will find out when I actually use it later on this year...
ajhira is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 pm.