Wiki Posts
Search

Free night question

Search this Thread

Old Oct 22, 2014, 8:25 am
Original Poster

Programs: Skymiles, AAdvantage, SPG
Free night question

I am new to Club Carlson, and have just received the Visa card and the bonus points. In the CC Visa promo literature it says: "When you redeem Gold Points for 2 or more consecutive Award Nights, your last night is free." I am planning a trip to London next week, 5 nights, and both my wife and I had 100,000 points. So 2 award nights on one reservation with one free night, and two ward nights on the other reservation. When I made the first reservation this is how it went, 3 nights for 100,000 points. However, when I made the second reservation I also got a free night, even though the reservation was only for two nights. Not complaining, just wondering if this is an undocumented feature?
Old Oct 22, 2014, 8:53 am

Yup - that's how it'll work if you book it under two different accounts.

I usually have stays of four nights, two under my name and two under the wife's. Only end up paying points for two nights ^
Old Oct 22, 2014, 10:15 am

Programs: Belong to Many but No Longer Loyal to Any
Originally Posted by whumpf
However, when I made the second reservation I also got a free night, even though the reservation was only for two nights. Not complaining, just wondering if this is an undocumented feature?
Yes, you get one of the nights free on a two night stay. "When you redeem Gold Points for 2 or more consecutive Award Nights, your last night is free."
Old Oct 23, 2014, 3:17 pm

The wording is weird, but if you think about it and take out the "or more" part:

When you redeem Gold Points for 2 consecutive award nights...your last is free.
Old Oct 23, 2014, 4:34 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Skymiles, AAdvantage, SPG
Makes sense - I was obviously reading it wrong. Thanks.
Old Oct 23, 2014, 8:51 pm

Originally Posted by whumpf
Makes sense - I was obviously reading it wrong. Thanks.