Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 25, 11, 2:14 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 112
Question Will I need to go through Customs and Immigration during international connections?

Hey everyone. This March I have an international flight from Dallas-Fort Worth to London Heathrow.

I'm flying Air Canada Jazz from DFW to Toronto Pearson, and I'm flying Air Canada from YYZ to LHR. However, my layover in Toronto is only two hours or so.

Will I need to go through Customs and Immigration at YYZ after getting off my first flight?

Also, will I need to go through Passport Control and additional security screening before boarding my transatlantic connecting flight?

Last year, when I flew from DFW to Rome, I had a layover at LHR- where I went through Passport Control and a long security checkpoint. I don't know if my layover at YYZ will be the same.

This will be my first time transferring from one international flight to another. And with a two-hour layover, I better not miss my flight to London.

So how does the transfer process work for connections between international flights?

Should I go ahead with my scheduled itinerary?
Jericho-79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 3:37 pm   #2
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 61,326
Two hours should be plenty of time for that connection in YYZ. I just transited there 10 days ago. When approaching the immigration area tell the agent directing the flow of passengers that you are making an onward international connection. They take you to a separate line so you never enter Canada. It was incredibly quick and easy.
sbm12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 3:55 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,850
You'll go to "Customs B" for a quick document check. The queue is normally very short. You won't see your bags at all unless the officer pulls them for examination. Two hours should be more than sufficient unless something comes up.
yyzvoyageur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 4:13 pm   #4
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: DFW; 2-time FT Fantasy Football Champ, now in recovery.
Programs: AA GLD 1.5MM; UA Silver; IHG Plat, Marriott Plat; OMNIPat
Posts: 10,850
If you're coming back on the reverse itinerary, LHR-YYZ-DFW, you will have to clear customs & immigration in YYZ.
__________________
This space intentionally left blank.
swag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 4:16 pm   #5
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 12,417
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.601 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swag
If you're coming back on the reverse itinerary, LHR-YYZ-DFW, you will have to clear customs & immigration in YYZ.
How many times?
guv1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 4:32 pm   #6
Moderator: TravelBuzz! & United MileagePlus
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Programs: UA 1K/1.7MM; SPG Lifetime Plat; HY Plat.; HH Gold; Nat'l Executive.
Posts: 9,879
For added assistance, I'll move this to the Travel->Toronto forum where many questions about Pearson Airport are posed. Ocn Vw 1K, Moderator, TravelBuzz.
Ocn Vw 1K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 5:41 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MCI
Programs: AA LT Gold; BA Silver; Hilton Gold; Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by guv1976 View Post
How many times?
Just once- but when we flew BA from LHR-YYZ and then connected to US-bound flights, the agent at LHR told us our bags were checked to ORD (our first stop in the US). I asked him how that could be since we would clear customs and immigration into the US at YYZ. He said we could pick the bags up in ORD. He was wrong, of course. We got to YYZ, our bags were in the baggage claim area, and we re-checked them and got through all the paperwork done before getting on the plane to ORD, which then landed at the domestc terminal. It worked well since we'd bought duty-free scotch at LHR and that gave us a chance to pack it in the checked bags before traveling onwards.
Athena53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 6:43 pm   #8
B1
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,337
It's strange to go through Canada from DFW to LHR when you can probably go non-stop or at least change in the US. Adding one more immigration/customs inspection adds opportunities for things to happen. On the positive side, if it snows in March in Toronto, the airport can handle it most of the time, unlike LHR.
B1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 7:31 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by B1 View Post
It's strange to go through Canada from DFW to LHR when you can probably go non-stop or at least change in the US.
According to Expedia, it would be cheaper for me to connect in Toronto. Booking a nonstop flight from DFW to LHR would be $1,000 USD more. And I couldn't find an itinerary that included a connection within the US- at least for the date that I needed to fly out.
Jericho-79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 7:33 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Athena53 View Post
Just once- but when we flew BA from LHR-YYZ and then connected to US-bound flights, the agent at LHR told us our bags were checked to ORD (our first stop in the US). I asked him how that could be since we would clear customs and immigration into the US at YYZ. He said we could pick the bags up in ORD. He was wrong, of course. We got to YYZ, our bags were in the baggage claim area, and we re-checked them and got through all the paperwork done before getting on the plane to ORD, which then landed at the domestc terminal. It worked well since we'd bought duty-free scotch at LHR and that gave us a chance to pack it in the checked bags before traveling onwards.
Could I check my bags from DFW straight to LHR? Or will I have to collect my bags and recheck them at YYZ?
Jericho-79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 11, 5:06 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 112
Could I check my bags from DFW straight to LHR? Or will I have to collect my bags and recheck them at YYZ?
Jericho-79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 11, 11:21 pm   #12
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: |YYZ|HKG|AKL|
Programs: CX Diamond, AC*SE, FB Ivory
Posts: 13,144
AC will tag your bags to LHR. You won't need to collect them at YYZ. No worries!
Rejuvenated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 11, 11:00 am   #13
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: MSP
Posts: 2
Question

What does Customs B entail? I have a similar situation (looking at MSP-YYZ-BCN) but I am inadmissible to Canada, so I'm concerned about connecting there. Are the agents at Customs B Canadian customs officials?? I'm wondering what they ask about, and I just want to make sure I don't actually need to enter Canada to get on my next flight.

Thanks!
kikster223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 11, 10:44 am   #14
B1
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikster223 View Post
What does Customs B entail? I have a similar situation (looking at MSP-YYZ-BCN) but I am inadmissible to Canada, so I'm concerned about connecting there. Are the agents at Customs B Canadian customs officials?? I'm wondering what they ask about, and I just want to make sure I don't actually need to enter Canada to get on my next flight.

Thanks!
You do need to enter Canada because the boarding lounge is inside security but there is no immigration/customs to cross to leave (except for US-bound flights). Therefore, if you are not admissible to Canada, you will not be able to access your flight. There is no area where flights are in a transit area outside immigration for overseas destinations. If you are in the boarding lounge, you are free to leave via the security exit and no one is going to stop you - so they stop you before you get there. I would hope.
B1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 11, 1:15 pm   #15
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikster223 View Post
What does Customs B entail? I have a similar situation (looking at MSP-YYZ-BCN) but I am inadmissible to Canada, so I'm concerned about connecting there. Are the agents at Customs B Canadian customs officials?? I'm wondering what they ask about, and I just want to make sure I don't actually need to enter Canada to get on my next flight.
Yes, they are with CBSA (Canadian equivalent of CBP).
yyzvoyageur is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 pm.