Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 15, 09, 6:22 am   #1
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Cool Making a Connection: Heathrow's T5 to T4

Greetings. I need to make a connection from a BA flight from ATH arriving at T5 to a CO flight at T4. Will 90 minutes give me enough time, assuming no delays? Only 1 carry-on bag.

Thanks.
BILL3075 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 09, 6:37 am   #2
Senior Moderator and Moderator: British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 12,711
Too tight for my comfort...

Assuming you are making this connection on a single ticket, your baggage (if applicable) will be tagged at ATH through to your final destination.

Breaking down this connection:
Gate to T5 Flight Connections: 10-20 minutes depending on where you're seated;
Bus from T5 to T4: 20-25 minutes;
Security at T4 Flight Connections: 10-15 minutes;
T4 Flight Connections to Gate: 10 minutes;

Considering boarding of the CO flight will close between 30-40 minutes before departure, this leaves no room for mishaps or delays.
Prospero is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 09, 6:38 am   #3
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, Bmi Blue, HH Silver,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Posts: 9,872
Hi Bill3075,

Welcome to Flyertalk!

Will you have checked in for the CO flight in ATH or will you have to do it at the transit desk at T4 once you have arrived at T4 after taking the airside flight connections bus? ( and what is the minimum check in time for CO?)
Also are you on one ticket ( protected in the event of delays) or two tickets ( not necessarily protected).

I would feel uncomfortable about a 90min connection from T5 onto another airline at T4 ( esp transatlantic) as you only need a small delay to miss your miminum check in time for CO ( if not already done so).

Can you get an earlier BA flight from ATH to T5?

Regards

TBS
__________________
BA Gold,VS Red,bmi blue,HH Silver, Amex Plat, Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
The _Banking_Scot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 09, 7:22 am   #4
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks for the quick reply. Originally, I was going to cut 2 separate tickets, but I see that to expedite things I should have the entire travel itinerary on one ticket.

I think the BA flight out of Athens is the first one to Heathrow. Olympic's first flight, I believe, arrives a bit later..... I'm trying to avoid US east coast airports because of delays and the need to make a late day connection.

Thanks for your input.


BILL
BILL3075 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 09, 7:29 am   #5
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,488
Seat Blocking...

Hello Bill!

I operate ATH quite often, and just try and get a seat as far to the front as possible to disembark as quickly as possible.

As of late, the early ATH-LHR has not been the busiest of flights, and due to the weight and balance restrictions, the Euro Traveller cabin has the majority of the Mid Cabin blocked off. So, if you can, make sure you try and get a seat as far forward as possible.

If you are indeed sat in the Aft cabin, you will not be permitted to move forward before take off, but will after take off.

I am presuming you are traveling in Euro Traveller, but could be totally incorrect...!

Have a good flight!
__________________
I work for British Airways, my comments and opinions do not represent my employer.
BingBongBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 09, 8:29 am   #6
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: LHR
Programs: BA Gold, BMI , AF, VS, AA, Amex Plat, HH Diamond
Posts: 7,708
If you get both flights on one ticket, there will be no issue to get you re-booked on the next CO flight if there is one if you do not make the connection.

I do not think BA give you a BP for CO in ATH even if it ticketed together (OW versus SkyTeam) but you can print your BP on-line if you have access to a PC and printer in Athens.
KenJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 09, 8:50 am   #7
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Programs: Lord OPebble - Mucci of the Hour. Diamond Class MUCCI.Chevalier du Circle Intime de Pucci
Posts: 7,074
The official minimum connecting time T5 > T4 is 120mins. I know there are those who say they can do it in less but the 2 hrs is the published time!
OPebble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 09, 9:12 am   #8
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SAN
Programs: BA Gold, UA 1P, CO Plat, SPG Plat, ICH Plat, HH Gold
Posts: 4,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by OPebble View Post
The official minimum connecting time T5 > T4 is 120mins. I know there are those who say they can do it in less but the 2 hrs is the published time!
If that is the case, the OP cannot buy it on a single ticket. And even if he can, it would probably relieve CO of the duty of putting him on the next flight.
frankvb is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 7:15 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.