Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

This Week I got to Hear All About The Air Navigation Order

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 17, 2014, 11:27 am
Original Poster

Apparently it's an offence to consume your own alcohol onboard. It isn't. I had the same issue the week before. I pointed that out to the crew member. He replied; "it's an offence under the Air Navigation Order", and "you can get arrested".

Fortunately, I have some knowledge of the Air Navigation Order. I know about smoking in an aircraft, drukenness in an aircraft, acting in a disruptive manner and disobeying a lawful command etc. I'd done none of those.

I had to speak to the purser.

I wish BA would sort that drinks trolley out then I could avoid these run-ins each week.

Palmer
Old Jun 17, 2014, 11:45 am

Programs: BA CCR/GGL, Hilton Diamond
Well, the UK Flight Safety Committee (who seem to have most of the airlines I would fly with as members) seem to think it isn't allowed:
Alcohol brought aboard by passengers
Alcoholic beverages carried on board by passengers may not be consumed when on board an aircraft. The crew may remove private supplies of alcohol for safe custody. It must be returned when the passenger leaves the aircraft.
Old Jun 17, 2014, 12:11 pm

Programs: ABBA
I had a little wine left from the VS "lounge" (Costa) at T1, which the cabin crew member mentioned I shouldn't have, but were happy with me finishing it before doors-closed (I was first on so it wasn't a rush)
Old Jun 17, 2014, 12:34 pm

Originally Posted by LondonAndy
Well, the UK Flight Safety Committee (who seem to have most of the airlines I would fly with as members) seem to think it isn't allowed:
Yes, but that guide's attitude to the law is summed up at the end, with a statement that may have inspired the cabin crew here:
DO NOT FORGET
If you believe it is illegal it probably is.
Old Jun 17, 2014, 12:47 pm