Best Avios redemption for New York?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 12, 2014, 4:25 pm
DSA
Original Poster

Programs: IHG Spire Ambassador
Best Avios redemption for New York?

Hi,

Sorry for the long post, but I am new to Avios redemptions (to date I have only redeemed once, to Europe in Economy, when the scheme was Airmiles) and am thinking about redeeming for a possible trip to New York, ideally in Business Class, and need some advice please.

I am trying to work out what would be the best use of my miles, vouchers and cash - and there are a lot of options available! Without Avios I would just purchase a standard Economy fare, cheapest I could find to maximise value, e.g. £474.85 on BA when I recently searched, but I see my Avios as an opportunity to try out Business class travel and travel in a bit more style and comfort. I would pay a bit more to travel in a better class if I had to pay in full, but certainly not the thousands the Club World fare is normally priced at.

I currently have around 60,000 Avios, but have recently ramped up my collection, notably by taking out the Lloyds Avios Rewards card (with double Amex Avios for 6 months), i.e. 2.5 per £1, and the upgrade voucher after spending £7000 (which I should hopefully do by the time I may wish to travel). For the purposes of below please also assume that I will have upped my balance to 80,000 Avios by this time.

I have never travelled business class nor been in an airline lounge, so I am a little unsure as to the best value here (N.B. the costs below are for a random "cheapest" flight via the BA low fare finder as at 12/12/13 when I undertook my initial comparison, which shouldn't have changed too much).

Option 0 (for reference): BA Club World return, £2562.85

Option 1: Standard booking via Avios on BA Club World, Cost 80000 Avios + £528.85 TFC i.e. 1000 Avios = £25.43

Option 2: Use upgrade voucher on BA: 60000 Avios + £528.85 TFC + 2x Voucher, i.e. 1000 Avios = £33.90