Go Back   > > >
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 1, 13, 11:36 pm   #16
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mostly UK
Programs: Mucci Extraordinaire, Hilton Diamond, BA Gold (ex BD)
Posts: 10,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manx Flyer View Post
As a regular on this flight (you can tell from the name I guess), I have always had my boarding pass checked when inboard, but increasingly both BA and FlyMaybe (same handling agent I believe) at the IoM seem to be lax in checking photo ID at the gate. In the last 6 trips it has been 50/50.

Manx flyer.
Would BA want their ground staff checking photo ID on this route? Like JER it's 'sorta domestic' so I can't see BA wanting to check ID at the gate.
layz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 5:37 am   #17
  
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: Mucci de la Cuisine Aérienne du Réseau Courte Durée de British Airways
Posts: 4,439
It is a UK CAA regulation for all airlines that operate under their rules, which applies to UK airlines.

This was brought in by the CAA after 9/11, at the same time they brought in the rules about the flight deck door having to be locked during the flight.

The boarding cards on mobile devices have to be created by the Boarding pass app, copies of the printable boarding passes are not allowed to be used.
As crew we have to check the date, flight number and that it has the square barcode as opposed to the long barcode found on a printed boarding pass.
Littlegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 7:34 am   #18
gum
  
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern Bavaria, Germany
Programs: LH Blue, BA Blue, Hyatt Gold
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by layz View Post
Would BA want their ground staff checking photo ID on this route? Like JER it's 'sorta domestic' so I can't see BA wanting to check ID at the gate.
+1
gum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 10:36 am   #19
  
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GLA
Programs: BA Blue, BA PP Amex, VS Red, Tesco blue!
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Littlegirl View Post
The boarding cards on mobile devices have to be created by the Boarding pass app, copies of the printable boarding passes are not allowed to be used.
As crew we have to check the date, flight number and that it has the square barcode as opposed to the long barcode found on a printed boarding pass.
I get that. What I don't understand is why it can't be a screenshot of the mobile BP (and why crew sometimes insist on taking your phone and swiping it to prove this). I can't see how a screenshot of a mobile bp is any different to a pyobp.

It's much quicker to access a photo than the app.
Scots_Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 11:10 am   #20
  
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: not far from MUC
Posts: 6,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Littlegirl View Post
The boarding cards on mobile devices have to be created by the Boarding pass app, copies of the printable boarding passes are not allowed to be used.
...err, anyone happen to know why screenshots aren't OK? If Apple's 'Passbook' app is OK for storing BPs, why isn't a screenshot?

When I get a mobile BP from Lufthansa it's a barcode and some text in an bog-standard email. Neither LH nor their crew care what email client I used to open the email and display it, so I'm 99% sure a screenshot of the email including the barcode would be just fine.

Some airlines/airports go for K.I.S.S., and things work, yet it seems in the UK / at BA / at HAL those in charge just can't resist applying the gold plating ...
shorthauldad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 11:19 am   #21
  
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Scotland
Programs: # Neodymium #
Posts: 934
I used the Passbook BP for the first time today - I really like it.. one swipe on the home screen and it's there!
McCoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 11:26 am   #22
  
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: Mucci de la Cuisine Aérienne du Réseau Courte Durée de British Airways
Posts: 4,439
With regard to why the screen shot is not OK, is something you will have to ask BA.

I was just confirming that we can't accept them but I an afraid I don't know the reason.

There is a thread about the BA APP and a BA technical representative monitors it, so you could post your question on there and he may be able to answer it for you.

As I have mentioned before, there is no need for crew to touch the screen and this should not be happening. BA have been reminding crew of this, so hopefully you won't get crew trying to do this too often from now on.
Littlegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 12:05 pm   #23
  
Join Date: Sep 2009
Programs: BAEC Brown
Posts: 1,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by layz View Post
Would BA want their ground staff checking photo ID on this route? Like JER it's 'sorta domestic' so I can't see BA wanting to check ID at the gate.
Flew to JER a few weeks ago. BP was checked but they had no interest in checking photo id.

As for the mobile BP, I've started using them recently and find that they work really well. It's one less piece of paper to lose. I have had the crew scrolling my phone but it doesn't bother me. I assumed it was so that they could check the whole BP.
Camflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 12:43 pm   #24
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
  
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Programs: BA Silver, Mucci
Posts: 6,099
A little funny story about BP's for those who may not have read it.
PETER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 12:48 pm   #25
  
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: Mucci de la Cuisine Aérienne du Réseau Courte Durée de British Airways
Posts: 4,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by PETER01 View Post
A little funny story about BP's for those who may not have read it.
That must have been great fun!
Littlegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 3:00 pm   #26
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
  
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Programs: BA Silver, Mucci
Posts: 6,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Littlegirl View Post
That must have been great fun!
Indeed. You'd be lost for words I'd imagine if someone handed that over to you on boarding!
PETER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 4:13 pm   #27
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Danville, CA, USA;
Programs: UA Plat, Marriott & SPG Gold, Hyatt Explorist & IHG Plat
Posts: 10,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genius1 View Post
Under CAA regs, crew have to check BPs upon entering the aircraft.
I always found this to be particularly stupid in that it should theoretically be impossible to board without the correct card. But I was informed that some people still get on the wrong flight (not sure how this is done when you should be caught at the gate) or at least that is the stated rationale.

Somehow we manage to do without this nonsense across the pond.
Boraxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 13, 4:36 pm   #28
  
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London Stratford, E7
Programs: BAEC Silver (soon to be Gold)
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boraxo View Post
I always found this to be particularly stupid in that it should theoretically be impossible to board without the correct card. But I was informed that some people still get on the wrong flight (not sure how this is done when you should be caught at the gate) or at least that is the stated rationale.

Somehow we manage to do without this nonsense across the pond.
I know it wasn't BA but there was that schoolgirl at Manchester than managed to get through security AND on board a Jet 2 aircraft without a boarding pass or passport...
KeaneJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 13, 12:01 am   #29
  
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: FL350, seat 0k
Programs: SK*G, BA Silver, Flying Blue, VLM, VT Traveller, PC Platinum, BW Diamond
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manx Flyer View Post
As a regular on this flight (you can tell from the name I guess), I have always had my boarding pass checked when inboard, but increasingly both BA and FlyMaybe (same handling agent I believe) at the IoM seem to be lax in checking photo ID at the gate. In the last 6 trips it has been 50/50.

Manx flyer.
BA don't check photo id on domestics
globalste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 13, 1:00 am   #30
  
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: not far from MUC
Posts: 6,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boraxo View Post
I always found this to be particularly stupid in that it should theoretically be impossible to board without the correct card. (...)
Somehow we manage to do without this nonsense across the pond.
Most "foreign" airlines also do without this nonsense when flying out of the UK! This is applied by airline, not by country of departure.
shorthauldad is offline   Reply With Quote
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Thread Tools
Search Thread
Go to Top
Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top