Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Car Rental Programs and Ride Services > Avis | Preferred and Budget | Fastbreak
Reload this Page >

Disparity in estimated charges at reservation & at pickup

Old Aug 12, 2014, 11:14 am
Original Poster

Please pardon my ignorance as I almost never rent cars. This is my first time with Avis. I used the USAA AWD to avoid the underage fee (I'm 22):

Yet upon picking up the car:

I did pick up a half hour earlier than reserved -- is that the issue? Even then the difference is substantial. What is going on? Any suggestions?
Old Aug 12, 2014, 11:31 am
Moderator: Avis and Rental Cars

Since it's now over 2 days (picking up before noon, returning at noon), all the additional items will be 3 days (including the ALI and under 25 fee). On the new contract, it shows "Under 25 fee appl". Might need to argue to get this removed as this is $75. Also, return by 11:28am and keep it within 2 days, if possible.
Old Aug 12, 2014, 12:29 pm

Programs: Delta Skymiles, Hertz Gold, National Emerald Club, Priority Club
Based on the picture Avis thinks you booked using AMEX Travel AWD and not USAA. That is why the underage fee applies (I assume).
Old Aug 12, 2014, 1:44 pm

Programs: Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat
Originally Posted by szymon
Based on the picture Avis thinks you booked using AMEX Travel AWD and not USAA. That is why the underage fee applies (I assume).
+1 I would assume your preferred profile override your USAA code. Just let the agent know of that on pick up and they will honor your reservation.
Old Aug 12, 2014, 9:38 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by sz2628
+1 I would assume your preferred profile override your USAA code. Just let the agent know of that on pick up and they will honor your reservation.
Ah, thanks. I signed up for Preferred through AMEX, and I'm sure I changed the AWD to USAA's code when booking, but I guess I'll let them know when I drop off the car.