Malaria in Sri Lanka?

Malaria in Sri Lanka?

Old Aug 27, 2006, 9:30 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: AA Exp|VA Platinum
Malaria in Sri Lanka?

Hi All

I will be in Sri Lanka for a couple of days next month. Mainly around CMB/Negombo. Do I need anti-malarial tablets?

Thanks
Old Aug 27, 2006, 2:32 pm

Disclaimer: I am a medical student, not a doctor.

Are you going to be actually out in the jungle, or staying mainly indoors? If the latter, you'll probably be OK without. But you should talk to your doctor. You'd need a prescription anyway if you do get the tablets.

I travel to Central America a couple times a year on surgical service trips and generally take chloroquine. Many of the doctors who come along think it's silly to do so because we spend virtually the entire time indoors.

I've never gone on antimalarial prophylaxis when I visit (for weeks at a time) the little forest-surrounded villages in India where my family is from, and never had malaria.

Also:

http://www.cdc.gov/travel/indianrg.htm

Of note, CDC doesn't think chloroquine (the most common antimalarial) is effective in the area, so you'd need another less friendly drug like mefloquine or doxycycline. Again, talk to your doctor.
Old Aug 27, 2006, 9:05 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: AA Exp|VA Platinum
Originally Posted by ttjoseph
Disclaimer: I am a medical student, not a doctor.

Are you going to be actually out in the jungle, or staying mainly indoors? If the latter, you'll probably be OK without. But you should talk to your doctor. You'd need a prescription anyway if you do get the tablets.

I travel to Central America a couple times a year on surgical service trips and generally take chloroquine. Many of the doctors who come along think it's silly to do so because we spend virtually the entire time indoors.