Online Travel Booking and Bidding Agencies - air-fare.com?




View Full Version : air-fare.com?


ColoBill1
Jan 17, 09, 1:12 am
Have to ask if anyone knows what has happended to this site?

For years I religiously logged onto air-fare.com several times a week to see what good MR fares had popped up from COS. The site used to be updated almost daily. The most current update date I see is
1 Nov 08, and even before that date updates for several months prior were only being performed every 3-4 weeks. Maybe now it is strictly a member-only updated site?

I emailed the site some months back asking what had happened, and got no reply. :confused:


fti
Jan 17, 09, 9:25 am
Are they out of business? Never heard of the site and as a rule I don't use "no name" sites for any of my bookings. Too easy to put up a website these days. But using it like you did to check prices was nice. Too bad it might not be around any more.

ColoBill1
Jan 19, 09, 1:35 am
Are they out of business? Never heard of the site and as a rule I don't use "no name" sites for any of my bookings. Too easy to put up a website these days. But using it like you did to check prices was nice. Too bad it might not be around any more.

air-fare.com is/was a pretty well known site, around for a number of years, so certainly was not a "fly by night" (if that's what you meant by "no name") site. As I said, I used it religiously for years as a "first alert" for good mileage run fares that surfaced, since it was updated essentially daily. If I saw a fare on this site I was interested in, I'd then go to Travelocity.com to confirm the availability of the fare, read the fare rules (such as the allowed number of connections), and check dates of availability. I'd then go to itasoftware.com to view routings and flight times available between the two cities I was interested in. Finally, would call UA res or use United.com to book the mileage run.

Still hoping someone can update me as to the status of the site.


WillTravel
Jan 19, 09, 3:02 am
Here is the domain registration info:
http://www.verio.com/whois/whois_results.cfm?fuseaction=whois_results&domain=air-fare.com

Have you tried phoning the number on the site?



SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0