Travel Technology - Spurious GMail Invites?




View Full Version : Spurious GMail Invites?


PorkRind
Jul 27, 08, 7:48 am
Anyone else recently getting GMail invites from people they don't know? I've gotten 2 in just the last few days, and none at all before that (other than the one that got me my first account years ago, and that was from someone I actually knew).

I'm assuming it's some sort of fishing (can't say phishing, since the links in the email appear to be genuine) expedition, but I can't figure the angle - unless the new recipient's account automatically becomes a SPAM dumpster.

What's doubly bizarre is that I'm receiving these invites on my existing GMail account, not the account (and vanity domain) that I recently moved to Google Apps.


fuzz
Jul 27, 08, 8:54 am
Anyone else recently getting GMail invites from people they don't know? I've gotten 2 in just the last few days, and none at all before that (other than the one that got me my first account years ago, and that was from someone I actually knew).

I'm assuming it's some sort of fishing (can't say phishing, since the links in the email appear to be genuine) expedition, but I can't figure the angle - unless the new recipient's account automatically becomes a SPAM dumpster.

What's doubly bizarre is that I'm receiving these invites on my existing GMail account, not the account (and vanity domain) that I recently moved to Google Apps.

I've been getting these, too. I was wondering what was going on.

fuzz

dnastudios
Jul 27, 08, 9:26 am
re the phishing angle: If you invite someone, you get an email confirming that they've accepted.


PorkRind
Jul 27, 08, 12:23 pm
re the phishing angle: If you invite someone, you get an email confirming that they've accepted.

Mmmyeah, but I guess I don't understand the value of this. Are they spammers that, rather than just "harvesting" email addresses, are actually "sowing" them?

MisterNice
Jul 28, 08, 8:33 am
I have not received any of these. I would guess clicking on any of these might take you to a site you would regret going to.

MisterNice

PorkRind
Jul 28, 08, 9:41 am
I have not received any of these. I would guess clicking on any of these might take you to a site you would regret going to.

MisterNice

Nope, the acceptance link is genuine, and points to http://mail.google.com/mail/<some sort of unique identifier>. It's not "phishing;" the displayed link matches the underlying link visible in the lower left hand corner of the Firefox status bar.

MisterNice
Jul 28, 08, 12:11 pm
Nope, the acceptance link is genuine, and points to http://mail.google.com/mail/<some sort of unique identifier>. It's not "phishing;" the displayed link matches the underlying link visible in the lower left hand corner of the Firefox status bar.
It is not too difficult to spoof a link ie redirect to a site different than the "link" displayed. To go to my bank, credit cards, broker etc websites, I always type in the main site address and hyperlink on from there. I never use an address in an email that appears to come from any of them.

MisterNice

PorkRind
Jul 28, 08, 12:54 pm
It is not too difficult to spoof a link ie redirect to a site different than the "link" displayed. To go to my bank, credit cards, broker etc websites, I always type in the main site address and hyperlink on from there. I never use an address in an email that appears to come from any of them.

MisterNice

Yes, it's called "phishing," and I've referred to it repeatedly in my posts. I know what phishing is. I know how to verify links in web pages and emails. I have verified that these invitations are genuine GMail Invitations, from total strangers. I'm not interested in "Internet Security 101", thank you. I am interested in what those sending out the invitations might gain from doing so.

Riverwalk
Jul 29, 08, 11:28 am
I have gotten a couple recently... sent to my Gmail address!

They're probably being used as spam probes, testing for valid addresses.

sangreal
Jul 29, 08, 3:00 pm
are they email invites or calendar invites? There is an exploit that allows people to get the name associated with your gmail account by inviting you to share a calendar. It also works to verify that a gmail address is valid

PorkRind
Jul 29, 08, 4:20 pm
are they email invites or calendar invites? There is an exploit that allows people to get the name associated with your gmail account by inviting you to share a calendar. It also works to verify that a gmail address is valid

Gmail. At least, the URL reads:

http://mail.google.com/mail/a-2acb36ce28-dc6180a889-866b1dccbf

(Didn't want anyone inadvertently clicking on it :))



SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0