MilesBuzz! - Dangerous virus warning!




View Full Version : Dangerous virus warning!


Spider
Apr 8, 02, 11:29 am
A new virus has just been discovered that has been classified by Microsoft as the most destructive ever!

This virus was discovered yesterday afternoon by McAfee and no vaccine has
yet been developed. This virus simply destroys Sector Zero from the hard disk, where vital information for its functioning are stored.

This virus acts in the following manner: It sends itself automatically to all contacts on your list with the title "A Card for You".

As soon as the supposed virtual card is opened, the computer freezes so that the user has to reboot. When the ctrl+alt+del keys or the reset button are pressed, the virus destroys Sector Zero, thus permanently destroying the hard disk. Yesterday in just a few hours this virus caused panic in New York, according to news broadcast by CNN. This alert was received by an employee
of Microsoft itself.

So don't open any mails with subject: "A Virtual Card for You."

As soon as you get the mail, delete it!! Even if you know the sender!!!

Also: Intel announced that a new and very destructive virus was discovered recently. If you receive an email called "An Internet Flower For You", Do not open it!! Delete it right away! This virus removes all dynamic ink libraries (.DLL files) from your computer. Your computer will not be able to boot up!!


cordelli
Apr 8, 02, 11:35 am
It's a hoax

http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/virtual.card.for.you.html

Non-NonRev
Apr 8, 02, 11:39 am
To supplement cordelli's post, since McAfee is mentioned by name, both hoaxes are detailed on the Network Associates / McAfee hoax page

http://vil.nai.com/VIL/hoaxes.asp


However, PLEASE BE VIGILANT and protect your system(s) with up-to-date virus protection - these may be fke, but there are lots of real ones out there


AkWally1
Apr 8, 02, 11:41 am
Sorry....it's a hoax.


See this link (http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/virtual.card.for.you.html)

Edit: Man you guys are quick! It took me too long to figure out the whole hyperlink thing I guess. http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/smile.gif


[This message has been edited by AkWally1 (edited 04-08-2002).]

Ian NYC
Apr 8, 02, 8:02 pm
Um - what does this have to do with MilesBuzz?

yyz-den
Apr 8, 02, 9:02 pm
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Um - what does this have to do with MilesBuzz?</font>

Perhaps someone was just trying to alert this community and realized that most people seem to go to MilesBuzz first.

Even though it turned out to be a hoax, I thank the poster for posting it to a prominent place in Flyertalk.


------------------
I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous

flingo
Apr 8, 02, 9:38 pm
Where are the moderators when we need them?

Shut down this thread.b

Moderator2
Apr 8, 02, 11:22 pm
I am closing this thread, as it is not mileage related. Normally I would copy it to Omni, but the embedded hyperlinks will not automatically transfer.

If anyone feels the need to continue discussing the subject, please start a new thread in Omni, on the FT Travel site.

Thanks

------------------
Craig6z
Buzz & United Moderator
moderator2@flyertalk.com



SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0