Online Travel Booking and Bidding Agencies - Have you gotten SPAM from betterbidding.com?




ALadyNCal
Nov 2, 05, 4:38 pm
Any email with text similar to this has represented SPAM (IME). I don't know if betterbidding.com knows it is being sent in their name :confused: I will send them an email.

Subject of email:

paypal account ( From Priceline and Hotwire Forum )
Text of email:

To activate your paypal account , you must enter your Email Address and Password in the corresponding dialog box of http://bbs.xvsxp.com/account.php.


anthonyanthony
Nov 2, 05, 5:22 pm
Yeah, I got that email too. The subject makes it appear that BetterBidding's "send email to user" function was used, but the body of the message doesn't contain the usual "this message was sent from betterbidding user xxxx", so maybe they got hacked. I dunno.

derby44
Nov 2, 05, 6:04 pm
I just received an e-mail tonight but this one was from Priceline and Hotwire forum to click and sign in to pay pal account. I forwarded the e-mail to pay pal.


derby44
Nov 2, 05, 6:07 pm
After you click on the link and sign in--you get a password not recognized and it brings you back to sign in with an e-mail already filled in---Tui@ret.tu :td:

peteropny
Nov 2, 05, 8:30 pm
I think they must have been hacked - I received the e-mail also.

jim5518
Nov 2, 05, 9:57 pm
Thanks for the info I just got the same email

mbstone
Nov 2, 05, 10:49 pm
I don't think the phishers hacked BB. It's easy to spoof the "From" line. Anybody that hasn't gotten a PayPal phishing mail by now must still be a virgin.

swag
Nov 2, 05, 11:19 pm
After you click on the link and sign in--you get a password not recognized and it brings you back to sign in with an e-mail already filled in---Tui@ret.tu :td:

If you clicked the link and sign in, you've probably just given your Paypal password to a criminal. Change it ASAP from paypal.com, or you are likely to find your bank account emptied.

jabez
Nov 3, 05, 10:45 am
Got to agree with Swag-BE VERY CAREFUL with anything related to PayPal.

rc408
Nov 3, 05, 10:55 am
There is a thread about this on betterbidding.com (http://www.betterbidding.com) with all the info on where it was generated.

BiziBB
Nov 5, 05, 2:46 am
http://www.betterbidding.com/index.php?act=ST&f=174&t=19279&st=25&#entry66526

Priceline and Hotwire Forum ->General Board Information ->Questions and Suggestions ->phishing paypal?

anthonyanthony
Nov 5, 05, 6:44 am
I don't think the phishers hacked BB. It's easy to spoof the "From" line.

Sure it's easy to spoof the email's From line. But it's *not* as easy to use Better Bidding's "send email to user" function to spam its users without the email body containing the line "this email was sent to you from Better Bidding". This suggests a more sophisticated type of exploitation of Better Bidding by the spammer.



SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0