Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan - Wierd credit message-(possible phishing?)




BOB W
Jul 2, 12, 10:21 am
Logged on to my email account this morning and found two messages from AS. The first titled "Your Credit Certificate from Alaska Airlines" told me that there would be a second message containing a PIN to be able to open the certificate. The second one is labeled "PIN for your alaskaaair.com Credit Certificate".

When I opened the message, the credit is for a whopping $0.40. Yup, forty cents.

Both sites look totally legitimate but for forty cents I am not going to open up my account to deposit it. Something is phishy here.
Anyone else get one of these?


KenfromDE
Jul 2, 12, 11:07 am
Lots of airline phishing going on. Some given on DL site. I would not have opened it.

BOB W
Jul 2, 12, 11:52 am
Lots of airline phishing going on. Some given on DL site. I would not have opened it.

I did not open my AS account so there is no way they could access the info there.


KenfromDE
Jul 2, 12, 2:22 pm
I may be wrong but I was under the impression that just opening a bad attachment can cause big problems. Doesn't sound like it was an attachment though.

BOB W
Jul 2, 12, 6:43 pm
I may be wrong but I was under the impression that just opening a bad attachment can cause big problems. Doesn't sound like it was an attachment though.No, there was no attachment. It contained a link to the site to enter the PIN.

Smelled phishy to me too...

jackal
Jul 2, 12, 8:01 pm
If so, that's a really well-constructed phishing scam, because that's exactly the same procedure AS uses when sending someone a gift certificate or GARR credit. Check the email address: it should be from Certificates@alaskagiftcerts.com. The "View Certificates" button (if you hover above it) should read https://www.alaskaair.com/certificates/ssl/certificatebalancestart.aspx?gccode= followed by a bunch of code. If the link doesn't match (i.e. it's something like http://alaskagiftcertificates.xhrt.ru), then it probably is a phishing scam, and definitely delete.

That all said, I probably wouldn't bother with any of this over 40 cents (although I would truly doubt a phisher would put out a 40-cent certificate, since most recipients would probably ignore that--they'd be more likely to put an irresistible amount like $100 or something), but a perfectly safe way for you to obtain this credit (if it is valid) would be to open your MyAccount on your own (i.e. not through the link in the email--use http://www.alaskaair.com/myaccount), go to your MyWallet, and choose the option to deposit a gift certificate and enter the code. If you're worried about malicious code in the email doing something nefarious, print the certificate out (or copy/paste the code and PIN into a plain-text Notepad document) and sign in to your account and enter the codes after closing the email. Simply entering a code into your MyWallet--even if it's an invalid one generated by a phisher--won't do anything to give anyone access to your account. The danger is clicking a link in the email and not recognizing that it's a redirect to a nefarious site where you might reveal your login information (or, less commonly, opening an attachment that would compromise your system).

BOB W
Jul 2, 12, 8:12 pm
If so, that's a really well-constructed phishing scam, because that's exactly the same procedure AS uses when sending someone a gift certificate or GARR credit.

But why would AS bother with a 40 cent cert? It just seems wierd.

ANC RED-EYE
Jul 3, 12, 12:48 am
But why would AS bother with a 40 cent cert? It just seems wierd.

If it is AS, I'd have to guess that it's somehow automated - perhaps you did a schedule change that changed an obscure tax or fee, and now an automatic audit discovered a $0.40 error in your favor...



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.