Religious Travelers - Halal Friendly Travel
May 21, 12, 1:36 am
I came across this website and it looks pretty reliable if you're Halal conscious
Jul 31, 12, 4:02 am
Thanks or the link, looks like a nice site trying to do a very useful job. Will be sure to support them and add to the knowledge base.
thanks for sharing, it is really useful
Aug 24, 12, 7:16 pm
Kosher meat is NOT halal.
Why? Because the Qur'an says that it is prohibited to eat any meat upon which God's name has not been mentioned. A Jewish rabbi may say God's name upon the first animal of the slaughter but won't say it for the rest. Muslims must say God's name before every animal that is hand slaughtered. Even those that support machine slaughter say that God's name has to be said for every single cut (i.e. a single cut would slaughter multiple chickens but since it is a single cut, saying God's name once is sufficient).
Note that whenever the meat of the "people of the book" is mentioned, it means that the slaughter may be a Christian or a Jew, but that his method of slaughter should be sound according to halal standards (i.e. God's name said before slaughter). Even other characteristics have to be sound, such as the animal has to be alive to be slaughtered and not found dead.
Now, why must the meat from the people of the book be up to halaal standards for Muslim consumption? Because even if we say that the meat slaughtered by the people of the book is halaal, then that means that we can even eat pork from a pig slaughtered by a Christian, since that would still be considered meat of the people of the book.
The Qur'an mentions twice that God's name must be said at the time of slaughter and that the slaughterer may be a Muslim or a person of the book.
So, that means that meat slaughtered by an Atheist, a Hindu, etc. would not be permissible, even if he/she were to say God's name upon it, whereas a Jew or a Christian who recites God's name upon a living animal before slaughtering it would be considered fine for halaal consumption.
Aug 25, 12, 6:22 pm
According to the Qurʾān, there is a clear reference that Muslims are allowed to eat the food of Christians and Jews.
الْيَوْمَ أُحِلَّ لَكُمُ الطَّيِّبَاتُ وَطَعَامُ الَّذِينَ أُوتُواْ الْكِتَابَ حِلٌّ لَّكُمْ وَطَعَامُكُمْ حِلُّ لَّهُمْ وَالْمُحْصَنَاتُ مِنَ الْمُؤْمِنَاتِ وَالْمُحْصَنَاتُ مِنَ الَّذِينَ أُوتُواْ الْكِتَابَ مِن قَبْلِكُمْ إِذَا آتَيْتُمُوهُنَّ أُجُورَهُنَّ مُحْصِنِينَ غَيْرَ مُسَافِحِينَ وَلاَ مُتَّخِذِي أَخْدَانٍ وَمَن يَكْفُرْ بِالإِيمَانِ فَقَدْ حَبِطَ عَمَلُهُ وَهُوَ فِي الآخِرَةِ مِنَ الْخَاسِرِينَ (5:5)
5:5 (Asad) Today, all the good things of life have been made lawful to you. And the food of those who have been vouchsafed revelation aforetime is lawful to you,  and your food is lawful to them. And [lawful to you are], in wedlock, women from among those who believe [in this divine writ], and, in wedlock, women from among those who have been vouchsafed revelation before your time -provided that you give them their dowers, taking them in honest wedlock, not in fornication, nor as secret love-companions.  But as for him who rejects belief [in God] - in vain will be all his works: for in the life to come he shall be among the lost.