Technical Support and Feedback - Facebook hacked after signing up to through DesignHotels Club ad on FT?




flashware
Dec 19, 11, 3:09 am
Not long ago I saw the ad on FT. I didn't click through directly, but did type in the address manually, had a look at what was on offer and signed up. About 10 minutes later, my FB account had been logged into from Taiwan.

Co-incidence?


flashware
Dec 19, 11, 3:12 am
Just to add to that, once the 'confirmation' e-mail was sent through, clicking onto that took you back to the signup page, rather than saying confirmation successful etc. Seems a bit dodgy.

cblaisd
Dec 19, 11, 7:55 am
I assume this involves a "Platform App" on FB? Anyone who has those enabled on FB is asking for misery.


flashware
Dec 19, 11, 8:00 am
I assume this involves a "Platform App" on FB? Anyone who has those enabled on FB is asking for misery.

Nope. Through an ad I saw on here, I went to their website and signed up. Once they sent the confirmation e-mail through (which went to club.designhotels.com) it never gave a proper "Your account is now active" spiel. It just kept redirecting to the signup page. Trying to then login using the details I signed up with did the same, it would just redirect to the signup page.

Anyway, as the details were the same as FB, I thought it was a bit odd that 5-10 minutes after a "failed signup" on the above website, my FB account had then been logged into from Taiwan.

IBobi
Dec 19, 11, 11:21 am
Does anyone have details/screenshot of this ad?

Kagehitokiri
Dec 19, 11, 12:46 pm
nothing to do with FT?

problem is unsecure signup pages?
many, if not most, "clubs" seem to be unsecure these days. :td:

flashware
Dec 21, 11, 7:31 am
nothing to do with FT?

problem is unsecure signup pages?
many, if not most, "clubs" seem to be unsecure these days. :td:

Yeh. Could have just been a co-incidence, but was very strange timing!

Kagehitokiri
Dec 21, 11, 9:10 am
Yeh. Could have just been a co-incidence, but was very strange timing!

again, nothing to do with advertisement or FT...

the unsecure site is the problem.

lin821
Dec 22, 11, 5:59 am
again, nothing to do with advertisement or FT...

the unsecure site is the problem.
Agree.

Not sure if OP had checked out this site before signing up?

I tried to find out more about this company and "products" but everything seems very "sketchy" to me. They do list a whole bunch of contact numbers/offices in different continents though. However if it were me, that wouldn't be enough to convince me to sign up. YMMV.

flashware
Dec 22, 11, 7:49 am
Agree.

Not sure if OP had checked out this site before signing up?

I tried to find out more about this company and "products" but everything seems very "scratchy" to me. They do list a whole bunch of contact numbers/offices in different continents though. However if it were me, that wouldn't be enough to convince me to sign up. YMMV.

.. and that was exactly what I was after. Thanks lin821 ^

Kagehitokiri
Dec 22, 11, 8:47 am
designhotels is absolutely fine..... reservations page is secure.

again the problem is unsecure forms, which is a problem with TONS of sites nowadays. (gilt and jetsetter for example - why i never signed up)

flashware
Jan 25, 12, 9:07 am
Just received a dodgy e-mail from them, so looks like there's definitely something amiss with them.

Design Hotels™ Club Membership

Click on the following link to activate your Design Hotels Club Member Account and get immediate access to exclusive hotel rates from 89,- € !

http://club.designhotels.com/signup/confirmationclub/S3qmTh/random.address@gmail.com?invite

Best regards,
The Design Hotels Club
clubrequests@designhotels.com

flashware
Jan 25, 12, 1:00 pm
Just to clarify, the address in the link (which I've now edited out) was some random address (rather than mine), hence it being a dodgy e-mail!



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.