US Airways Dividend Miles (Pre-FlightFund Merger) - Do you Still Have your Elite Qualification Kit?
ncharles
Mar 25, 04, 10:22 am
If there is anyone who hasn't already thrown out their US Airway elite qualification kits.....we will pay you $100 for an Complete 2004 Elite Qualification Kit. I realize that this is an odd request and will probably stir up suspicion, but I have tried to gather these materials through more conventional means and had no luck.
I have been desperately trying to track down Elite qualification packages to analyze for a travel client. I am specifically looking to evaluate tone message, offer, investment etc. against other airline's elite kits. So just knowing the contents and benefits isn't enough.
I know this is a sensitive topic so let me allay some concerns right off the bat:
-You will receive everything back
-Feel free to write void on any coupons sent or scan coupons and send electronically
-You don’t need to send id card
-Black out all personal account info on materials
Again, this is for a competitive communication analysis. If you are interested and have your full elite kit (OE and all), please contact me at ncharles@yahoo.com. (Note: I set up the yahoo account for confidentiality purposes). We will send $100 for complete packages for any level. If you have other concerns, please let me know.
gardener
Mar 25, 04, 10:40 am
I am pretty sure I have my complete CP kit. Will confirm when I get home tonight.
PS What is OE? Outside envelope?
[This message has been edited by gardener (edited Mar 25, 2004).]
ncharles
Mar 25, 04, 10:58 am
Greatly appreciate it. Yes OE is outer envelope. In some cases airlines went above the standard white envelope and created some serious packaging.
If US only sent out standard white, then it's not a big deal if you don't have it. However if it was something more, we would really like to benchmark against it.
Always Travel Ready
Mar 25, 04, 11:11 am
If you really want to ally concerns, than please explain why, if you are truly working for a legitamit advertising agency, and considering all of the travel that takes place within an advertising firm, wouldn't you think that there would be plenty of Elite packages to use for your analysis.
Which, is why I seriously doubt your true intentions. Sorry, but air saftey is much more of a concern to me, than hurting your feelings.
ncharles
Mar 25, 04, 11:30 am
Understood and fair enough.
We actually tried the route of sending a mass email internally. We didn't have any luck. Either they didn't fly enough for elite qualification or they already threw it out. We also have a preferred relationship with an airline so we are heavy into one airline.
Also tried calling airlines directly but most take a very long time to send out (not really a priority for them)
Also tried networking through our own personal contacts: family and friends. I am actually using my father's nwa elite materials for the analysis.
No one tracks this sort of thing officially, so it's been very difficult.
I understand your concerns hopefully my response helps.
gnomie
Mar 25, 04, 12:03 pm
FWIW - I have my complete CP kit in the original envelope and tried sending two emails to ncharles@yahoo.com and they both came back as undeliverable.
The actual error message is:
Sorry your message to ncharles@yahoo.com cannot be delivered. This account has been disabled or discontinued [#102]. -
[This message has been edited by gnomie (edited Mar 25, 2004).]
ncharles
Mar 25, 04, 12:18 pm
Extremely sorry. It's a new account that I set up for this project.
It's ncharles16@yahoo.com
SORRY!
El Boocho
Mar 25, 04, 2:05 pm
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by Always Travel Ready:
Sorry, but air saftey is much more of a concern to me...</font>
Let's be realistic here. Giving someone access to your elite card doesn't create a risk to air safety.
HPTunco
Mar 25, 04, 2:41 pm
I wouldn't send anything to an "anonymous" EMAIL account like ###@yahoo.com. Why wouldn’t you use your company EMAIL address to legitimize this request? Sorry, but this is a strange and suspicious request.
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by ncharles:
Extremely sorry. It's a new account that I set up for this project.
It's ncharles16@yahoo.com
SORRY!</font>
"Paranoia runs deep. Into your heart it will creep. It starts when you're always
afraid. Step outta line, the Man come and take you away..."
catwood
Mar 25, 04, 3:17 pm
There is nothing the least bit secure contained in an airline elite qualifying package, if you blocked out your name/address/and number, and the fact the card isn't needed, who cares? It's all public domain information.
even if they wanted your card, which they dont, there isn't still anything you could do with it, except fly and earn miles...lol
GadgetFreak
Mar 25, 04, 3:29 pm
Somehow the Buffalo Springfield allusion cheered me up http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/wink.gif
I beg to differ. There are rumors of that "incident." Catwood, seductress lead flight attendent, First Officer with a hangover and a 401K at risk, passengers and crew doing the limbo in the First Class cabin. Partial nudity, numbers exchanged, oh god.
Trade Elite Qualification credentials and who knows what could happen. Anyone got a Finlandia? I need one.
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by El Boocho:
Let's be realistic here. Giving someone access to your elite card doesn't create a risk to air safety.</font>
HPTunco
Mar 25, 04, 3:45 pm
A. Those that send off their kits, please post when your $100 arrives.
B. It's more likely that you'll start receiving ads for VIAGRA, etc. once your EMAIL address is exposed.
C. If it looks too good to be true, IT PROBABLY IS!
"There's a man with a gun over there
Telling me I got to beware..."
HPTunco
Mar 25, 04, 4:34 pm
"A fool and his money soon go separate ways...."
GadgetFreak
Mar 25, 04, 5:53 pm
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by HPTunco:
"A fool and his money soon go separate ways...."</font>
Was that Buffalo Springfield too???? I thought that was Ben Franklin?
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by GadgetFreak:
Was that Buffalo Springfield too???? I thought that was Ben Franklin?</font>
Not sure about Franklin, but it certainly is in "Evil Woman" from ELO.