View Full Version : http://www.cheapflightsasia.com ?


roadtripsforever
Oct 20, 06, 3:08 pm
Is this site a scam or are they for real? They seem to offer to good to be true prices.

Rampo
Oct 25, 06, 10:04 am
Is this site a scam or are they for real? They seem to offer to good to be true prices.Novice posters whose first post is a link to a commercial website are sometimes greeted with suspicion, but on the chance that the question is genuine, I see nothing at the site to set off alarm bells. The airfares are comparable to what you can find elsewhere using bookingbuddy.com or the like. You can be certain that those RT prices do NOT include taxes etc., which will typically run an additional $200-$300 on US-Asia flights.

747LWW
Oct 25, 06, 7:57 pm
By the way, welcome to FT.

emailkid
Oct 25, 06, 9:00 pm
Novice posters whose first post is a link to a commercial website are sometimes greeted with suspicion, but on the chance that the question is genuine ...I came very close to deleting this post, but we decided to let it stand for now.

I tried the site, and got a ridiculously low price from IAH, alas when I clicked on it got a message to call 800 #, and my investigation ended there.

EmailKid
in part Mod role

747LWW
Oct 25, 06, 9:16 pm
I came very close to deleting this post, but we decided to let it stand for now.

I tried the site, and got a ridiculously low price from IAH, alas when I clicked on it got a message to call 800 #, and my investigation ended there.

EmailKid
in part Mod role

What is your conclusion on this post basis your investigation?
Thanks :)
Please help me to decide if it is just a waste of time or perhaps worse.

emailkid
Oct 25, 06, 10:02 pm
As Rampo said, first time posters who ask about a commercial web site often if not almost always have a tie with the website. Some make it easy by SPAMing several Fora with the same web site in the guise of asking a question or suggesting an answer.

Hopefully not too many people see those posts, because if a mod does not catch them right away, an alert reader will click on Report This Post and the offending post will be gone while SPAMer will be suspended.

OP did not post anywhere else, in fact it is still his only post, so for now I take the post at face value. At the same time, I personally would not spend too much time trying to figure out the web site because OP has not posted since. True, he/she may be lurking or perhaps underwhelmed by the response, but that's my take on this.

And there are already a bunch of good sites out there that I would trust more.

EmailKid

MarsianMan
Nov 5, 06, 3:45 am
I guess I should make a couple posts now, in case I find a site and need to ask about it later. :p

emailkid
Nov 5, 06, 7:20 am
I guess I should make a couple posts now, in case I find a site and need to ask about it later. :p
Welcome to FlyerTalk MarsianMan !

Feel free to make a couple of posts now or later.

No one has a problem with constructive posts, it's the SPAM that gets deleted (and poster gets suspended), first post or not.

And sarcasm duly noted.

EmailKid


SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0