Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Other Loyalty Programs/Partners > Amtrak | Guest Rewards
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 9, 06, 3:21 pm   #1
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Marion, AR, USA
Programs: AGR, AA, NWA
Posts: 19
Electrical Outlets on Superliner (Texas Eagle)?

I've searched the web and FlyerTalk, but haven't found a short, nice answer to my question of "What is the location of the one or two electrical outlets on the Superliner coach car (or the cars that I will encounter on the Texas Eagle this week)?"

Thanks in advance for anyone who can give me hints on what seat numbers to seek out when I board.

Timbeaux
timbeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 06, 4:19 pm   #2
Moderator, Amtrak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: HH Diamond, Amtrak Exec
Posts: 3,073
While I've never personally gone looking for the outlets, I've been told that they are at 19 and 55. I've also heard reports that from time to time the outlets are partially, if not fully blocked by the seats themselves. This could be especially true if you are planning to plug in a brick. So you may want to bring along a surge protector or at least a short extension cord.

Failing getting a seat next to an outlet, you should be able to recharge things in the cafe car at the outlets by the tables on the lower level. There is also an outlet in the upstairs service area, but I would ask for permission before trying to use that outlet. Some crews don't like people behind those counters, even though they aren't used except on the Empire Builder.
__________________
Alan,

Take care and take trains!
AlanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 06, 7:21 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: TPA
Programs: AA Gold 1MM, DL Silver
Posts: 1,207
I would recommend a surge protector regardless. If the head end power from the locomotive drops out and comes back on, there is the possibility of a surge that may not be very friendly to electronic devices.
ByeByeDelta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 06, 8:18 pm   #4
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Programs: DL Skymiles, AGR, Club Carlson
Posts: 61
On the lower level of each car right be the doors that lead outside there is an outlet. Although I wouldn't leave my phone charging while we pull into a station, I'm worried someone will run out the door with my phone.
gliere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 06, 7:15 am   #5
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CHICAGO
Programs: DELTA SM, HILTON GOLD, SPG GOLD
Posts: 108
Don't take my word for it, but I think in the refurbished coaches, there are outlets at every seat.
firstflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 06, 7:47 am   #6
Moderator, Amtrak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: HH Diamond, Amtrak Exec
Posts: 3,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by firstflyer
Don't take my word for it, but I think in the refurbished coaches, there are outlets at every seat.
You are correct, as the coaches go through the refurbishment process Amtrak is installing outlets at every seat. However at the moment those refurbs are in a minority, so the odds of your finding one aren't good.

So far, based upon what info I can find, there are only about 20 of those coaches in service out of almost 150.
__________________
Alan,

Take care and take trains!
AlanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 06, 4:50 pm   #7
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Marion, AR, USA
Programs: AGR, AA, NWA
Posts: 19
[quote=AlanB]While I've never personally gone looking for the outlets, I've been told that they are at 19 and 55. I've also heard reports that from time to time the outlets are partially, if not fully blocked by the seats themselves. This could be especially true if you are planning to plug in a brick. So you may want to bring along a surge protector or at least a short extension cord.

Thanks AlanB! You win the prize. The outlets were located at seats 19 and 55. The one at 19 was blocked by the seat. The one at 55 is usable. I got so excited I even took pictures, but I don't see a way to add them to these posts.

At any rate, I'll be surfing the 'net (like I'm doing right now) and watching DVDs on my trip from DAL to LRK.

Timbeaux.

PS: Train 22 departed only one hour behind schedule, which doesn't really bother me. What did upset me is that both the regular Amtrak web site and the mobile phone optimized site gave me incorrect information about the status of the train. It was only when I called "Julie" that I found out it was running behind.
timbeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 pm.