Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > American Express | Membership Rewards
Reload this Page >

New Gold Card Member, but wrong version and no bonus.

Old May 11, 2012, 6:36 pm
Original Poster

Programs: SPG Platinum, Hyatt Diamond, HHonors Diamond

Hey everyone, I'm new to FT, so forgive me if I'm doing anything wrong.

I travel a lot, mainly for leisure, so as a result I'm looking to get the AMEX Platinum in just over a year. However, as I'm only 19, I though it'd be wiser to start out with the Gold and work my way up.

I realized after the fact that I applied for the plain gold and not the Premier Rewards Gold as I intended to. (As I'm only going to have the card for 13 mos. anyway before getting the platinum so not worried about the annual fee difference as the first year is waved.)

That being said, since I've already applied and been approved, is there any chance that I could get the 25,000 bonus offer applied if I switch to the PR gold?

I'm not too familiar with AMEX policies and such, but I know other companies will do this (and have done).

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.
Old May 11, 2012, 7:59 pm

Programs: AA PLT, HH Gold, SPG/Marriott Gold
Amex usually requires 12 months before you can request a product change. Try calling them and saying you made a mistake, and that you really were only interested in the PRG. Honestly, they will most likely tell you to submit another application for the PRG. Good luck though!

Last edited by mia; May 12, 2012 at 1:27 pm
Old May 11, 2012, 8:09 pm

Programs: Delta SkyMiles
Originally Posted by longhorn11
Amex usually requires 12 months before you can request a product change. Try calling them and saying you made a mistake, and that you really were only interested in the PRG. Honestly, they will most likely tell you to submit another application for the PRG. Good luck though!
yep, phone call should do it

Last edited by mia; May 15, 2012 at 9:48 am