Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage (Consolidated) > American Airlines | AAdvantage (Pre-Merger)
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 9, 12, 10:12 am   #1
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: AA SPG Amex
Posts: 4,699
New AA.com feature (may explain some login difficulties)

This morning I noticed a new AA.com feature I'd yet to see discussed here: it is now possible to login with either your AAdvantage number or the email address associated with your account. I remember this being a gripe a while back, so apparently they listened. Kind of nice to have, much like my Starwood and Marriott logins.

Last edited by JDiver; Nov 9, 12 at 10:31 am. Reason: retitle / maintain title
Upgraded! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 10:13 am   #2
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 454
I did not have issues logging in today, but did have issues pulling current reservations.
tonytifao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 10:32 am   #3
Senior Moderator/Moderator: American AAdvantage, Mexico, and Talkboard Topics
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA EXP / 5 MM; HH <>; SPG Gold; Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 42,607
It is nice - if it works.

I had no problems pulling reservations, but could not log in with my aa.com linked e-mail address, could only log in with my FFN.

Not quite ready for prime time?
__________________
"We wander for distraction, but we travel for fulfillment." - Hilaire Belloc
JDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 10:35 am   #4
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC and CMH
Programs: AA GLD, HHonors GLD, Priority Club PLT
Posts: 262
who doesn't know their FFN?? I even know my unborn child's future alphanumeric number. I object to AA's frivolousness in IT spending
jlp187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 10:45 am   #5
Senior Moderator/Moderator: American AAdvantage, Mexico, and Talkboard Topics
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA EXP / 5 MM; HH <>; SPG Gold; Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 42,607
Well, no wonder they're bankrupt! (There, it has been said in this thread... now we can go on.)

I hope they get it to actually work, and that they consider modifying the wording from Forgot AAdvantage Number? to Forgot AAdvantage Number or Email Address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlp187 View Post
who doesn't know their FFN?? I even know my unborn child's future alphanumeric number. I object to AA's frivolousness in IT spending
__________________
"We wander for distraction, but we travel for fulfillment." - Hilaire Belloc
JDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 11:10 am   #6
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: AA SPG Amex
Posts: 4,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDiver View Post
I hope they get it to actually work, and that they consider modifying the wording from Forgot AAdvantage Number? to Forgot AAdvantage Number or Email Address?
If someone clicks "forgot email address" I think that AA should simply email them with "you're an idiot" and hope they put two and two together .

And FWIW, it took longer than usual to load, but I did get it to work with my email address.
Upgraded! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 11:17 am   #7
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Jefferson City MO
Programs: DL Diamond, AA ExecPlat 1MM, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum Premier
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlp187 View Post
who doesn't know their FFN?? I even know my unborn child's future alphanumeric number. I object to AA's frivolousness in IT spending
I have often struggled when completing paper work to remember my home phone number or year of birth for one of my children, but if you shake me awake in the middle of the night I always can remember my AA and DL frequent flyer numbers I bet that I'm not alone.
ksweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 11:20 am   #8
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: dallas texas usa
Programs: aa plt 4.9MM LTAC
Posts: 14,840
same pw for both?
__________________
don....i'm practicing to be a grouchy old man, and getting good at it....
clacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 11:26 am   #9
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Jefferson City MO
Programs: DL Diamond, AA ExecPlat 1MM, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum Premier
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by clacko View Post
same pw for both?
No - AA uses passwords and DL uses PINs for some reason. AA's approach is far more secure.
ksweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 11:47 am   #10
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SNA/LAX
Programs: AA PLT, VS Gold, SPG Plat, Le Club Plat, Amex Plat
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDiver View Post
It is nice - if it works.

I had no problems pulling reservations, but could not log in with my aa.com linked e-mail address, could only log in with my FFN.

Not quite ready for prime time?
I was unable to log in with my email address, and was unable to pull up any of my reservations once logged in with my FFN.

Not quite ready for prime time, indeed.
thomdis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 11:52 am   #11
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Programs: AA EXP 2MM
Posts: 1,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDiver View Post
I hope they get it to actually work, and that they consider modifying the wording from Forgot AAdvantage Number? to Forgot AAdvantage Number or Email Address?
When you go to "Forgot AAdvantage Number" it asks for your email address, so it really serves no purpose now.
beerup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 12:08 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Programs: AA EXP - 2.4 mm, Starwood PLT
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomdis View Post
I was unable to log in with my email address, and was unable to pull up any of my reservations once logged in with my FFN.

Not quite ready for prime time, indeed.
No issues getting in but also cannot see anything on My Reservations. Actually it says "You Do Not have Any Reservations"... luckily I was able to find my trip next week by using the Record Locator. Spoke with Web Services and this is something they are "working on"..
execplatscum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 12:30 pm   #13
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: LAX
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 6,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by execplatscum View Post
No issues getting in but also cannot see anything on My Reservations. Actually it says "You Do Not have Any Reservations"... luckily I was able to find my trip next week by using the Record Locator. Spoke with Web Services and this is something they are "working on"..
Yup. Same here. No reservations.

Also, my email address doesn't work. Not working yet.

I'm just surprised that their IT team didn't catch this before. Don't they mirror a portion of the site and do an internal check before going public?
FlyMeToTheLooneyBin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 1:52 pm   #14
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: DFW
Programs: AA EXP, SPG PLAT
Posts: 434
My current reservarions are not showing up in my reservartions. I have to manually see by putting the Record locator and additional information.
__________________
AA EXP, 1.83 MM, Starwoods Platinum, Hilton Gold, Hyatt Platinum, Marriott Platinum
dfwflyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 12, 1:55 pm   #15
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: AA SPG Amex
Posts: 4,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by clacko View Post
same pw for both?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksweeney View Post
No - AA uses passwords and DL uses PINs for some reason. AA's approach is far more secure.
Not sure what you mean by this, whether you log in with your email address or FF# the password will be the same.
Upgraded! is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:00 pm.