Programs: AA (EXP, 3MM), Hilton (Diamond), SPG (lowly Gold)
Posts: 3,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Efrem
That's a bit drastic. Modern e-mail programs show the target of a link when you hover over it, before you click. Granted, you have to think to look, but to me that's a small sacrifice compared to giving up all the other stuff (which often has content, not just appearance).
Eudora (OK, I'm old skool) warns you when you hover over a link whose actual link is different from the text.
Greetings from American Airlines AAdvantage(R) Program
Welcome to the American Airlines AAdvantage(R) program, the first and largest loyalty program in the world! We are proud to inform you that today, American Airlines launch a new reward program. Please take the 5 questions survey. For your effort you will be rewarded with $50 & 25,000 miles.
Programs: AA EXP (2005-Present)/2MM, Former DL PM (2000-2006)
Posts: 17,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by best
Greetings from American Airlines AAdvantage(R) Program
Welcome to the American Airlines AAdvantage(R) program, the first and largest loyalty program in the world! We are proud to inform you that today, American Airlines launch a new reward program. Please take the 5 questions survey. For your effort you will be rewarded with $50 & 25,000 miles.
Is an email from americanairlines.wecaare001@aa.com legit?
I just got an email from americanairlines.wecaare001@aa.com that says I have a travel voucher as a result of a canceled flight in Dallas due to weather. Is this a legit email or scam? I did have this cancelled travel due to snow in Dallas. I am a bit worried because it has an embedded link to "my voucher" and an attached .txt file it wants me to open.
Programs: AA Plt, 2.4 MM, HH GLD, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plt
Posts: 7,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by akersnl
I just got an email from americanairlines.wecaare001@aa.com that says I have a travel voucher as a result of a canceled flight in Dallas due to weather. Is this a legit email or scam? I did have this cancelled travel due to snow in Dallas. I am a bit worried because it has an embedded link to "my voucher" and an attached .txt file it wants me to open.
My rule: if you have to ask, then don't provide information. W/that said - there are AA emails that utilize "wecaare" in the address line.
Were you due an email or paper voucher? I'd call AA for more information about your voucher.
If you have any doubt, I would call AA and ask. If AA cancelled your flight, I should think that you would be entitled to a refund to your original form of payment, not a voucher valid only for future travel on AA.
The .txt file sounds suspicious. I would assume that, if AA sent a "voucher" as an attachment, it would be considerably more formatted. Also the long email address sounds strange. Check the header of the email and see what server originated the message, and calling AA is probably not a bad call.
Programs: AA EXP, 1 MM, AC, HH Diamond, Marriott Silver, Hertz 5*
Posts: 4,015
Also check for grammatical and spelling errors in the e-mail. Scammers usually aren't too literate. And make sure any links are actually going to the domain shown, and not somewhere else.
I agree with an earlier poster....call American and see what they know.
If you don't get the answers that make you feel comfortable then delete
the message.
Senior Moderator/Moderator: American AAdvantage, iDine, and Talkboard Topics
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF
Programs: AA EXP / 5.1 MM; HH Diamond; SPG Gold; Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 30,824
Time to make an inquiry, as you have only shared the "originating" address with us (which could easily be spoofed). And particularly if you are not due a voucher. But, I have a dozen e-mails, most replies from Customer Service, that originate at americanairlines.wecaare001@aa.com.
BTW, what does your antivirus software say when it checks the attachment?
This has been merged into the original Fake AA E-mail Warning! Phishing, malware, spoofs etc. (consolidated)
To reiterate from other posts, if one suspects malmail:
If you receive this type of email, you should not click on any links, open any attachments, call phone numbers listed or follow any instructions in the email. Instead, forward a copy of the email, including the header to webmaster@aa.com so that we can investigate further.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AAWEBmaster
What To Do If You Receive A Phishing Email
American Airlines will never ask you to perform security-related changes to your account in this fashion or send emails to collect user names, passwords, email addresses or other personal information. Anyone who receives an email claiming to be from American Airlines, that asks for account information, should consider it fraudulent and an attempt to obtain personal information that may be used to commit fraud.
If you receive this type of email, you should not click on any links, open any attachments, call phone numbers listed or follow any instructions in the email. Please visit http://www.aa.com/phishing for more information.
AA.com Webmaster
Quote:
Originally Posted by akersnl
I just got an email from americanairlines.wecaare001@aa.com that says I have a travel voucher as a result of a canceled flight in Dallas due to weather. Is this a legit email or scam? I did have this cancelled travel due to snow in Dallas. I am a bit worried because it has an embedded link to "my voucher" and an attached .txt file it wants me to open.
__________________
Become involved in FT charitable events and activities - visit FlyerTalk Cares! Forum.
Last edited by JDiver; Feb 16, 10 at 9:57 am..
Reason: add / edit
I just got an email from americanairlines.wecaare001@aa.com that says I have a travel voucher as a result of a canceled flight in Dallas due to weather. Is this a legit email or scam? I did have this cancelled travel due to snow in Dallas. I am a bit worried because it has an embedded link to "my voucher" and an attached .txt file it wants me to open.
If we're voting, I say it's legit. I've received CS replies from that address. Also, the txt file may have been used so the voucher could be read be a non-HTML mail handler or it may be been created by the OP's mail client.