Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > All Nippon Airways | ANA Mileage Club
Reload this Page >

How long will ANA hold an award res before ticketing?

Old Jun 2, 2010, 11:42 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA Gold

I plan to transfer MR and SPG points into the ANA program to get two award seats in business for a vacation to China next year. I will be trying for the seats at the time they are released, 330 days out. I will have to do my reservation over the phone as it will be a multi city itinerary with stopovers using *A partners flights.

If I find the seats outbound at 330 days, and plan to be in China 2 1/2 weeks, will ANA hold the reservation until the return seats can be booked? How long will ANA hold an award reservation before you have to lock it in and ticket?

Also, after an award is ticketed, what is the policy on costs to make changes? I cannot seem to find this information on their web site.

Thanks for your help. I'm new to award travel with ANA and want to fully understand how they do things before I start trying to plan this vacation.
Old Jun 2, 2010, 12:30 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

I'm pretty sure they will not hold reservations at all. That's how it was 4 years ago when I made a booking through NH.
Old Jun 2, 2010, 1:14 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by sbm12
I'm pretty sure they will not hold reservations at all. That's how it was 4 years ago when I made a booking through NH.
How difficult was it to get your award seats? Did you do it over the phone? Was there a lot of award availability? I know how to work with Oneworld and Skyteam, but have never redeemed/flown with *Alliance before.
Old Jun 4, 2010, 12:00 pm

Programs: SPG Gold, Hilton Diamond, DL, AA
I recently booked through ANA a *A partner award. I found all the availability online through their search tool. I called to book over the phone because I wanted to confirm taxes and fees that werent showing up online.