Go Back   > > >
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 25, 17, 6:24 pm   #1
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: San Francisco
Programs: AS MVP Gold, SPG Platinum
Posts: 24
Some AS operations moved to SFO T2 on 26 April 2017

From SFO's Facebook page:
***ATTENTION*** Some of Alaska Airlines operations will move to Terminal 2 tomorrow. Day-of operations may vary. Please check with the airline for the most up-to-date info.
Super excited about this. Anybody know if this is the first step of a permanent move, or if they're simply experimenting and/or shifting around capacity for the day?

https://www.facebook.com/flySFO/phot...type=3&theater
Attached Images
 

Last edited by dayone; Apr 27, 17 at 7:54 pm
CalanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 7:06 pm   #2
Moderator: Alaska Mileage Plan and Virgin America
  
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8,556
Using the words "move to," rather than operate from, suggests permanence. Probably taking advantage of some slack in VX gate utilization.

I'm curious which flights.
dayone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 7:21 pm   #3
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Juneau, Alaska.
Posts: 11,467
Well this is what as.com says:

"All departures for Seattle, beginning 4/26/17"
Quote:
Ticket counter

International Terminal, Aisle 12
Saturday, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday:
4:30 am - 9:15 pm
Sunday, Wednesday:
6:45 am - 9:15 pm
All departures for Portland, Palm Springs, Salt Lake City, and International Destinations


Terminal 2 Ticket Counter, Door 2
Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday:
3:45 am - 9:15 pm
Wednesday:
5:15 am - 9:15 pm
All departures for Seattle, beginning 4/26/17
Quote:
Terminal 2, gates 50A-59
All departures for Seattle, beginning 4/26/17
https://www.alaskaair.com/content/ai...rnational.aspx

And from flysfo:
Quote:
Alaska Airlines Operating from Terminal 2 and the International Terminal

Effective Wednesday, April 26, 2017, Alaska Airlines will operate its Seattle flights from Terminal 2. All other Alaska Airlines flights will remain in the International Terminal; however, day-of operations may vary. Please visit Alaska Airlines for the most up-to-date information.
http://www.flysfo.com/flight-info/al...ional-terminal

Last edited by jerry a. laska; Apr 25, 17 at 7:30 pm
jerry a. laska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 8:25 pm   #4
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: San Francisco
Programs: AS MVP Gold, SPG Platinum
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry a. laska View Post
Well this is what as.com says:

"All departures for Seattle, beginning 4/26/17"
Awesome, thanks! I checked the SFO section of Travel Advisories, but didn't think to check the airport guides. Doi.

I fly between SFO and SEA on Alaska about 2x a month, and have Admirals Club access, so this will make pretty much everything about the SFO-end of that better.
CalanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 8:51 pm   #5
  
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: EUG/PDX
Programs: AS MVP Au, UA Ag, HH Au, Marriott Pt, IHG Au, Nexus, *$ Au
Posts: 1,431
Not fun reclearing security into the International Terminal from a T2 arrival. On the plus side, T2 departures will have full PreCheck!
rustykettel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 8:56 pm   #6
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Over the Bay Bridge, CA
Programs: Jumbo mas
Posts: 27,430
There probably isn't too much AS/AS connecting traffic currently. Any northbound Mexico traffic already has to go through immigration and TSA again. This makes SEA/SFO/Anywhere on VX connections the most pleasant connection in their route network.
Eastbay1K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 9:30 pm   #7
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: San Francisco
Programs: AS MVP Gold, SPG Platinum
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustykettel View Post
On the plus side, T2 departures will have full PreCheck!
What do you mean by 'full precheck'? I always have precheck when flying on AS out of the SFO international terminal. Is there something inferior about it compared to what's at T2?
CalanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 9:51 pm   #8
  
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: EUG/PDX
Programs: AS MVP Au, UA Ag, HH Au, Marriott Pt, IHG Au, Nexus, *$ Au
Posts: 1,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalanMan View Post
What do you mean by 'full precheck'? I always have precheck when flying on AS out of the SFO international terminal. Is there something inferior about it compared to what's at T2?
I thought International A only had PreCheck Lite. I've only flown on non-Precheck eligible airlines (JL) from that terminal and seen others with the PreCheck Lite style cards standing in the same slow moving lines pre and post ID checker as everyone else.
rustykettel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 9:52 pm   #9
  
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: PDX
Programs: AS MVP, Accor Silver, B6, Global Entry
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustykettel View Post
I thought International A only had PreCheck Lite. I've only flown on non-Precheck eligible airlines (JL) from that terminal and seen others with the PreCheck Lite style cards standing in the same slow moving lines pre and post ID checker as everyone else.
I had normal Pre just last month.
jinglish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 9:56 pm   #10
  
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: EUG/PDX
Programs: AS MVP Au, UA Ag, HH Au, Marriott Pt, IHG Au, Nexus, *$ Au
Posts: 1,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinglish View Post
I had normal Pre just last month.
Very happy to find out I'm wrong!
rustykettel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 10:00 pm   #11
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: San Francisco
Programs: AS MVP Gold, SPG Platinum
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustykettel View Post
I thought International A only had PreCheck Lite. I've only flown on non-Precheck eligible airlines (JL) from that terminal and seen others with the PreCheck Lite style cards standing in the same slow moving lines pre and post ID checker as everyone else.
As far as I can tell, I'm getting the full Precheck experience, it's a separate line, all the way to the left of the checkpoint. Nothing taken out of the bag, shoes on, regular metal detector.

Since Alaska usually puts Seattle flights on Gate A2 (just like they used to always have SEA flights out of B20 and B22 in T1), when it comes to curb-to-gate speed, I suspect that T2 will actually slow me down a bit, but it will be well worth it to gain access to the T2 amenities.
CalanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 10:26 pm   #12
  
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: SEA
Programs: AF/TK/VX/AS Gold Hertz PC HH Dia. AMEX Plat SPG Gold National EE FPC Plat
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalanMan View Post
Since Alaska usually puts Seattle flights on Gate A2 (just like they used to always have SEA flights out of B20 and B22 in T1), when it comes to curb-to-gate speed, I suspect that T2 will actually slow me down a bit, but it will be well worth it to gain access to the T2 amenities.
Not sure what your speed was to A2, but in T-2 with Pre-check, I timed it a few times and my record was 12 minutes from the locking the car in the garage to standing in the plane. I was not running either

But, yes, T-2 is one of nicest terminals IME of any large airport in N.A.
ptownca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 11:06 pm   #13
  
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Seattle, Wa
Programs: AS 75K & BR Member- HHonors - Hertz
Posts: 1,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptownca View Post
But, yes, T-2 is one of nicest terminals IME of any large airport in N.A.
Pretty much have to agree with you on this.
flyupfrnt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 11:08 pm   #14
Hilton Contributor Badge
  
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Snohomish, WA
Programs: AS MVP, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 1,835
NooooooooooooOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooo. There is no Priority Pass lounge in T2

Neil
missamo80 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 17, 11:16 pm   #15
  
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Denver
Programs: AS, WN, UA, Hilton, Marriott, SPG
Posts: 18
Will they now give access for AL members to the AC in terminal two? Considering you have access to CX in the International A now and you will have to clear security twice, plus walk two terminals.
safari ari is offline   Reply With Quote
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Thread Tools
Search Thread
Go to Top
Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top