Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 25, 12, 2:16 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: AA 2MM, AA EXP, Alaska 75k Gold
Posts: 74
Upgrade screwed me out of PreCheck

Had an early morning flight yesterday out of SEA. I had tried to check in the night before, but couldn't - got all the way through the check-in process online, but right before it should have printed my BP, it said "Airport Check-In Required".

I've had this happen before, quite often - apparently when the upgrade is applied, if the upgraded ticket doesn't "associate" with the original ticket properly, they have to print a flight coupon at the airport and attach it to your BP. Which means, that you have to go to an agent, which means - no PreCheck!

(I know, first world problems)

Anyone know how to fix this problem? Can they "associate" the ticket somehow if I call the Gold line, so I can still check in online or at a kiosk? Losing time on an early morning flight to standing in line for my BP, not getting pre-checked, etc. cuts into my ability to get coffee before I board, and NO ONE should be subjected to that.
jill5172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 12, 2:36 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maui OGG Hoity-Toityville
Programs: AS MVP Gold, Marriott Rewards Silver,United Miles plus Hawaiian Air AirTran SWA
Posts: 501
Upgrade screwed me out of PreCheck

You can still go thru the First Class / gold security line
Yes a bit longer than Pre., but miles shorter than the regular lines.
Tony10s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 12, 3:33 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: CLD
Programs: as MVP, aa P, marriott P, hilton D, ihg P, bw D, hertz PC
Posts: 519
what a nice problem to have... Having a trip coming in a week, hopefully I can be this lucky..
travelsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 12, 3:45 pm   #4
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: TUS/PDX
Programs: WN CP/A-List, AS MVPG75K
Posts: 4,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by jill5172 View Post
Which means, that you have to go to an agent, which means - no PreCheck!
Did you try the PreCheck line? Supposedly they were going to "fix" the barcode issue that causes agent issued BPs not to scan properly (thus leading to the dreaded CLR).
tusphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 12, 4:50 pm   #5
ANC
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Programs: AS MVPG, CO, NW(now DL), Flying Blue
Posts: 5,573
I have this happen when booking mileage upgrades. Something in the system goes awray but not always....just sometimes

If it were a 48 hour instnat upgrade causing me the extra step of going to the airport to check in it wouldnt bother me...I'd be happy just to sit in F

When I am spending and using my miles to upgrade when I book the flight...which even ma and pa kettle can do...that irritates me
__________________
Alaska/Horizon 8015 EQM 2014 YTD
Alaska/Partners 9015 EQM 2014 YTD 10 segments
ANC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 12, 5:31 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PRG/ Ester, AK
Programs: AS MVPG75k
Posts: 451
hmmm... this explains why myself and another pre check eligible companion both got the red light last week at SEA.

we re-checked bags after international arrival and got BP from the counter agent. wish we'd been told that would make us pre-check ineligible as the checkpoint took almost 20min... way longer than the regular elite line.
evoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 12, 5:47 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: AS MVP; AA GLD
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by evoG View Post
hmmm... this explains why myself and another pre check eligible companion both got the red light last week at SEA.

we re-checked bags after international arrival and got BP from the counter agent. wish we'd been told that would make us pre-check ineligible as the checkpoint took almost 20min... way longer than the regular elite line.
On the AA side many report not getting LLL with international itins
Aaron01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 12, 6:44 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Programs: AA SPG Amex
Posts: 4,686
Will AS allow you to reprint a BP at a kiosk? If so, check in with an agent, then go to a kiosk and do a reprint.
Upgraded! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 12, 6:51 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seattle
Programs: AS MVPGold75k, IHG - Priority Club Platinum, Hilton Honors Diamond, Marriott Rewards Silver
Posts: 598
I have called the Gold desk and they found the issue and have always been able to "fix" it for me so that I could print from my hotel or by using a kiosk. You could try that also, but hopefully, once the agent issues you a boarding pass just go right around the corner and reprint it as was suggested.
ctporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 12, 7:36 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Programs: AS 75K, Marriott Platinum Premiere, Hilton Honors Silver, Hyatt Platinum, National Executive
Posts: 1,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upgraded! View Post
Will AS allow you to reprint a BP at a kiosk? If so, check in with an agent, then go to a kiosk and do a reprint.
Agreed. Also the horror of such an injustice. Hopefully your whole week wasn't ruined.
apodo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 12, 11:01 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: AS MVPG, Hyatt Diamond, Hilton Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 3,324
I would take an upgrade over PreCheck all day long. PreCheck is a novelty - I don't think it is worth much. Somehow we survived before.
Jeeves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 12, 11:51 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SEA
Programs: Hhonors Gold, National Executive, Grazie Gold, Identity Platinum
Posts: 2,331
Even with PreCheck, you may have to go through the normal screening process.

Try leaving your house 30m earlier
OverThereTooMuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 12, 9:45 am   #13
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: AA 2MM, AA EXP, Alaska 75k Gold
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upgraded! View Post
Will AS allow you to reprint a BP at a kiosk? If so, check in with an agent, then go to a kiosk and do a reprint.
I had the same thought, but you can't reprint your BP when the flight coupon has to be attached.
jill5172 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 pm.