Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air France, KLM, and Other Partners | Flying Blue > Air France Frequence Plus
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 26, 12, 12:57 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA (Vinings Area)
Programs: DL DM, Hilton, Marriott & SPG Gold & a whole lot of other programs...
Posts: 724
Question Transfers in CDG (2E) - Time to S4?

Hello all -

It looks like with the opening of S4 now, that many of the Skyteam International flights will depart from this Pier. I notice on the map that there is a connection (train, etc) between 2E (K, L and M Gates). I am taking LHR-CDG-ATL (AF1681 -> AF6) Tuesday next week (3-JUL) and it seems that LHR-CDG arrives in 2E and CDG-ATL departs from 2E. Am I safe to assume it should be a somewhat more simple transfer than in the past? Is there still a security recheck.

I only have a 1:30 layover and was hoping to at least check out the new Lounge. Thanks for any insight!
milesandpoints is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 12, 1:09 pm   #2
Moderator: Flying Blue (Air France & KLM), France and TravelBuzz!
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Paris, France, AF F+ Rouge pour toujours, Flying Blue whatever, LH FTL, HHonors Gold, SPG Plat, formerly proud SCC Executive, now IC Ambassador, BA down to nobody
Posts: 11,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by milesandpoints View Post
Hello all -

It looks like with the opening of S4 now, that many of the Skyteam International flights will depart from this Pier. I notice on the map that there is a connection (train, etc) between 2E (K, L and M Gates). I am taking LHR-CDG-ATL (AF1681 -> AF6) Tuesday next week (3-JUL) and it seems that LHR-CDG arrives in 2E and CDG-ATL departs from 2E. Am I safe to assume it should be a somewhat more simple transfer than in the past? Is there still a security recheck.

I only have a 1:30 layover and was hoping to at least check out the new Lounge. Thanks for any insight!
Well, the ride between 2E (K gates) and S3 (L gates) takes 45s. When you add the stop in S3, the ride from 2E to S4 (M gates) should take about 4mn. You should also note that, at the beginning, S4 will only be open in the morning, while in the afternoon, flights from 2E will use the main pier at 2E and S3. I am not sure how this applies to AF 006 departing at 1355 ... In any case, there's no guarantee that your flight will be using S4.

I believe you will probably have to undergo a security screening as CDG, like most European airports, doesn't differentiate between EU/non-EU flights, but between Schengen and non-Schengen flights. So, coming from LHR ...

Last edited by JOUY31; Jun 26, 12 at 1:23 pm..
JOUY31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 12, 1:58 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somewhere between 0 and 13,000 metres high
Programs: AF/KL Life Plat, BA G, A3 G, Aclub Plat, Hilton G, IC Plat Amb, Starwood G, blablablah, etc
Posts: 9,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by milesandpoints View Post
I am taking LHR-CDG-ATL (AF1681 -> AF6)
AF6 is CDG-JFK so you have either your destination or your flight number wrong. AF6 was typically always S3 on A388 days, not sure if it will stay there or move to S4 with its opening or if it will depend on days. I think it may be hard to say just yet.
orbitmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 12, 2:23 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA (Vinings Area)
Programs: DL DM, Hilton, Marriott & SPG Gold & a whole lot of other programs...
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by orbitmic View Post
AF6 is CDG-JFK so you have either your destination or your flight number wrong. AF6 was typically always S3 on A388 days, not sure if it will stay there or move to S4 with its opening or if it will depend on days. I think it may be hard to say just yet.
Thanks - It is indeed AF6 and I meant to Say JFK (Its the A380). I'm ATL based, but flying back into JFK this trip. I'm looking forward to the trip on the A380 in J!
milesandpoints is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 12, 2:41 pm   #5
Moderator: Flying Blue (Air France & KLM), France and TravelBuzz!
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Paris, France, AF F+ Rouge pour toujours, Flying Blue whatever, LH FTL, HHonors Gold, SPG Plat, formerly proud SCC Executive, now IC Ambassador, BA down to nobody
Posts: 11,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by milesandpoints View Post
Thanks - It is indeed AF6 and I meant to Say JFK (Its the A380). I'm ATL based, but flying back into JFK this trip. I'm looking forward to the trip on the A380 in J!
While some jetways in the main 2E pier can accommodate the A380, I have never seen it parked there, but always at S3. So, AF6 will depart from either S3 or S4 (if you are lucky !). In my personal experience, flights from LHR arrive most of the time at the main pier, but in about 15% of my flights, they have used S3.

Enjoy the A380 .
JOUY31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 12, 2:43 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA (Vinings Area)
Programs: DL DM, Hilton, Marriott & SPG Gold & a whole lot of other programs...
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOUY31 View Post
While some jetways in the main 2E pier can accommodate the A380, I have never seen it parked there, but always at S3. So, AF6 will depart from either S3 or S4 (if you are lucky !). In my personal experience, flights from LHR arrive most of the time at the main pier, but in about 15% of my flights, they have used S3.

Enjoy the A380 .
Thanks Hoping for S4 - If I had the time, would it be possible prudent to visit S4 to see the new lounge and back to S3; or does the security check come into play? Thanks again!
milesandpoints is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 12, 2:47 pm   #7
Moderator: Flying Blue (Air France & KLM), France and TravelBuzz!
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Paris, France, AF F+ Rouge pour toujours, Flying Blue whatever, LH FTL, HHonors Gold, SPG Plat, formerly proud SCC Executive, now IC Ambassador, BA down to nobody
Posts: 11,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by milesandpoints View Post
Thanks Hoping for S4 - If I had the time, would it be possible prudent to visit S4 to see the new lounge and back to S3; or does the security check come into play? Thanks again!
In the past, you could only use the lounge that is located in the boarding pier from where your aircraft leaves. I don't believe this has changed yet, although it could change in late 2013 when the airside hotel area opens in S3.
JOUY31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 12, 2:48 pm   #8
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,622
Security

Quote:
Originally Posted by milesandpoints View Post
Thanks Hoping for S4 - If I had the time, would it be possible prudent to visit S4 to see the new lounge and back to S3; or does the security check come into play? Thanks again!
Yes, you will need to clear security before you leave your arriving terminal. You will probably make it fine, but CDG security can be slow, I have noted.
DaddyRabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 7:10 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.