Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Premium Economy [Premium Voyageur] on AF, is it worth it?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 14, 2011, 10:15 am
Original Poster

Programs: virgin
Premium Economy [Premium Voyageur] on AF, is it worth it?

I have a 16+ hour flight from NYC to Cotonou (COO) via Paris on AF. Premium Economy is $1000 more than Economy to do, round trip, but as I have no experience in AF PE, I wondered if its worth it.

I've done Virgin and BA Premium Ec seating - is this comparable, with a bigger, wider seat, greater recline, and better food?
Old Oct 14, 2011, 12:24 pm

Programs: AF/KL FB Plat 4L, VA Vel Silver, BA EC, LH M&M
We have several threads on Premium Voyageur, so you might wish to have a look there.

As far as the BA product is concerned, I would say that the AF product is better.

Regarding the price difference: you should also factor in that you will also get way for miles for flying PV.
Old Oct 14, 2011, 7:47 pm

Programs: DL PM; AF FB, SPG Gold, Plat Amex
I just got back from CDG to ATL in PV on 777 and I would definitely say it was worth the price... It is definitely NOT business class by any means, but they have packed economy so tightly these days that I could NEVER fly it on AF (I am 6' 200#--183 cm/91kg) and it would kill me. The seat is not especially comfortable (take a good "tempurpedic"-like pillow to sit on), but there is substantially much more room than economy--they offer a better amenity kit AND you can standby for an upgrade using miles (there needs to be "O" availability to move into).
Old Oct 15, 2011, 8:26 am
Original Poster

Programs: virgin
PV to business priority upgrade?

Interesting - tell me more about the priority wait list for upgrade PV to Business:

I am Flying Blue Gold, so does that help? and how many miles does it cost?
Old Oct 15, 2011, 2:15 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge

Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, Accor ALL Diamond
Originally Posted by peegeenyc