Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 29, 09, 9:31 am   #1
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: BOS
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Gold
Posts: 3,384
CPAP as 3rd carry-on

Can you take a CPAP machine in a separate 3rd carry-on bag on an Air Canada flight? It'll be in addition to a roller-bag and a laptop shoulder bag.
__________________
My FlightMemory
Lurker1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 09, 11:01 am   #2
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: YOW
Posts: 738
I have carried a briefcase, a laptop case and a CPAP as carryons a few times before, and never been given any trouble.

Of course, that is anecdotal, but ...
sharkshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 09, 2:30 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Programs: AC E75K, HHonors Gold, Starwood Gold
Posts: 72
If I am not mistaken, the CPAP does not count against your carry on limit since it is a life sustaining medical device.

Quote:
In addition, the following items can be carried on and do not count towards your baggage allowance:
Outer garments (e.g. coats, hats)
Purses up to 25cm x 30cm x 20cm (10" x 12" x 8")
Assistive devices (e.g. canes, crutches, walkers)
Containers carrying life sustaining items
Urns containing human remains
jayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 09, 5:34 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: YYZ/YKZ
Posts: 3,653
The only thing I can see being a problem is the CPAP is not vital during the flight (unless it's an overnight flight). Would you be able to put it in the roller in the event that they do not allow it as a 3rd carry-on?
__________________
Support the canned beer industry, recycle old airplanes
fromYYZ_flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 09, 8:01 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Hammer (YHM)
Programs: AA Gold, AP, QF, Marriott Silver
Posts: 172
I checked that a few weeks ago as I was traveling on AC with a CPAP mchine and it does NOT qualify for a third carryon. I use a carryon max roller bag in which I put my cpap, laptop and stuff like prescriptions and reading material. I have had no problem with that arrangement on AC, CX, CA or SQ.
Hamilton guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 09, 8:36 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dunedin, FL
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamilton guy View Post
I checked that a few weeks ago as I was traveling on AC with a CPAP mchine and it does NOT qualify for a third carryon. I use a carryon max roller bag in which I put my cpap, laptop and stuff like prescriptions and reading material. I have had no problem with that arrangement on AC, CX, CA or SQ.
Hamilton guy: I, too, use a CPAP. I'm going transpac (JFK-SIN) in Oct. CX has informed me that my particular portable CPAP is not compatible with the 777ER's power; therefore, I have to rely on my own dry battery. Were you able to connect to the plane's power in-flight? If I might ask, what kind of device did you use?
XFed2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 09, 7:28 am   #7
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 19
I have been turned down by security (CATSA) with CPAP as 3rdcarry-on. They told me it was a Transport Canada regulation. I emailed TC and they told me it is NOT their responsibility to regulate amount and size of carry-on but up to the individual airlines. So why would security prevent me from heading to the gate with 3 carry-ons? AC GA have no problem with my 3 pieces.

I have taken 3 carry-ons (CPAP) on AA with no problem. Also many people have 3 carry-ons; roller-bag, laptop, and Duty Free. Gotta love the consistent inconsistencies.
astabula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 09, 6:02 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Hammer (YHM)
Programs: AA Gold, AP, QF, Marriott Silver
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by XFed2001 View Post
Hamilton guy: I, too, use a CPAP. I'm going transpac (JFK-SIN) in Oct. CX has informed me that my particular portable CPAP is not compatible with the 777ER's power; therefore, I have to rely on my own dry battery. Were you able to connect to the plane's power in-flight? If I might ask, what kind of device did you use?
I haven't used my CPAP on a flight. My unit is a mesred elite 110-220 compatible so I would presume I could use it on CX flight. I have certainly used it all over Asia in hotels with no problems.

By the way, one thing I have found is that you very rarely find plugs next to the beds. Lights tend to be wired directly into the wall. I carry a 15 ft extension cord and a variety of converters so that I can reach a plug a distance away from the bed. You need to get the extension cord over there so it can handle 220 power. before I bought my own, I would ask the hotel for one and never had a problem getting one.
Hamilton guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 09, 5:50 am   #9
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dunedin, FL
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamilton guy View Post
I haven't used my CPAP on a flight. My unit is a mesred elite 110-220 compatible so I would presume I could use it on CX flight. I have certainly used it all over Asia in hotels with no problems.

By the way, one thing I have found is that you very rarely find plugs next to the beds. Lights tend to be wired directly into the wall. I carry a 15 ft extension cord and a variety of converters so that I can reach a plug a distance away from the bed. You need to get the extension cord over there so it can handle 220 power. before I bought my own, I would ask the hotel for one and never had a problem getting one.
Thanks. I also carry an extension cord with adapters. FYI, do run your CPAP model and specs by CX before trying to use onboard -- IF you don't run it on dry batteries.
XFed2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 09, 12:46 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Hammer (YHM)
Programs: AA Gold, AP, QF, Marriott Silver
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by XFed2001 View Post
Thanks. I also carry an extension cord with adapters. FYI, do run your CPAP model and specs by CX before trying to use onboard -- IF you don't run it on dry batteries.
I took a look at the specs for my mesred and the specs on the CX website and it seems that the problem maybe the wattage. The CX website says the outlets are 100 watts and the mesred draws 110. This maybe the same for your make and model.

However, that 110 would include the reservoir humifier warming and, if I ran it without the warming it would probably be less than 100 and therefore OK.
Hamilton guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 7:06 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Programs: SPG Gold, HHonors Silver, DVC
Posts: 271
CPAP in AC Executive Class

I'm going to be flying YVR-SYD in AC Exec First next May and was wondering about using my CPAP machine while sleeping on the flight. Is there any problem with doing this? Does anyone know the wattage rating of the outlet at the seat?
Great White North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 8:17 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: YYZ
Programs: Fairmont Plat, 1865 Voyager, Accor Platinum, SPG Gold, AC*SE, CX*G, DL,AA,HH,Hyatt, Hrtz Gold, NEXUS
Posts: 895
[quote=Hamilton guy;11826776]I checked that a few weeks ago as I was traveling on AC with a CPAP mchine and it does NOT qualify for a third carryon/QUOTE]

You might want to print this out and carry it with you next time:

http://www.aircanada.com/en/travelin.../carry-on.html

Quote : "The following items are allowed at all times, in addition to your carry-on allowance:
...Battery-powered medical equipment (such as CPAP and sleep apnea devices)"


Also, you are required to give 48 hours notice that you are carrying it and there are special TSA clearance procedures for it. Check here http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtrav...eds/index.shtm and here http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtrav...eeds/cpap.shtm.

I just got one myself.
allbrosca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 8:59 pm   #13
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: YYZ
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Great White North View Post
I'm going to be flying YVR-SYD in AC Exec First next May and was wondering about using my CPAP machine while sleeping on the flight. Is there any problem with doing this? Does anyone know the wattage rating of the outlet at the seat?
AC doesn't allow CPAP machines to be plugged into the seatback power (liability issues in the event the IFE/seatback power goes down). The link posted above by allbrosca and the associated popup dialogues contain all the info you should need
JungleJet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 9:00 pm   #14
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seal Beach, CA, USA
Programs: UA GM
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by XFed2001 View Post
Hamilton guy: I, too, use a CPAP. I'm going transpac (JFK-SIN) in Oct. CX has informed me that my particular portable CPAP is not compatible with the 777ER's power; therefore, I have to rely on my own dry battery. Were you able to connect to the plane's power in-flight? If I might ask, what kind of device did you use?
You can find out what the power options are available on your flight either at seatguru AND/or at the airlines' website.

First, what type of power port? If it is A/C then my understanding is that it would be 100V. Find out about adapters for the other kind(s) of ports.

If your CPAP is rated for 110V only then you can contact the vendor manufacturer about using it with 100V power. I am guessing that if it is 110V then the wire comes out of the CPAP and goes directly to the plug that plugs into the wall or other AC port. If that is the case then maybe you can get a power supply - that is the cord comes out of the machine and plugs into a brick and then a cord coming from that that goes into the power port. That brick is the power supply and you would want it rated at 100-220V (or is it up to 240?).

Anyway, CX could be blowing smoke. Definitely call the airline but don't rely on their words for what is possible.

I have used my CPAP on UA and OZ. The OZ wesite says that the AC port could only be used for laptops. I had an issue with that and it got resolved, eventually, in my favor.

FWIW, I've posted elsewhere about my experience with using CPAPs on flights on other carriers:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/asian...cpap-f-oz.html

The following are my comments on one thread at fodors:

http://www.fodors.com/community/air-...omment-6861623

The info here might be a bit redundant:
http://www.fodors.com/community/air-...omment-6230177
mrwunrfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 9:13 pm   #15
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seal Beach, CA, USA
Programs: UA GM
Posts: 380
[quote=allbrosca;18792682]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamilton guy View Post
I checked that a few weeks ago as I was traveling on AC with a CPAP mchine and it does NOT qualify for a third carryon/QUOTE]

You might want to print this out and carry it with you next time:

http://www.aircanada.com/en/travelin.../carry-on.html

Quote : "The following items are allowed at all times, in addition to your carry-on allowance:
...Battery-powered medical equipment (such as CPAP and sleep apnea devices)"


Also, you are required to give 48 hours notice that you are carrying it and there are special TSA clearance procedures for it. Check here http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtrav...eds/index.shtm and here http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtrav...eeds/cpap.shtm.

I just got one myself.
Despite what that tsa webpage says it is not really required to remove the CPAP from a carryon anymore. They used to wipe it and then put the wipe in a machine to look for explosives residue. An agent told me that it was no longer necessary to remove the CPAP from the carryon. I've kept my CPAP stowed in my carry-on for dozens of flights since then and not had any issues.

I would not put the machine in checked luggage.

I sometimes use a backpack that accomodates both my laptop and CPAP. Otherwise, the laptop goes into a pocket on my rollaboard and the CPAP in a small carry-on.
mrwunrfl is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 1:45 am.