Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Sign in using an external account

Old Oct 18, 03, 8:31 pm   #1

Programs: Aeroplan SE, HHonors Gold
Can Canadian residents(no US mailing address) - get US credit cards?

I own a Citibank AAdvantage Visa credit card - obviously no bank branches in Canada.

I am trying to apply for a Marriott visa credit card - I was told as a nonUS resident, I am not eligible.

What is the true situation of nonAmerican residents (eg Canadians) - with no US mailing address/post office box - of being able to apply to credit cards, issued by a US bank?
FlyerGoldII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 03, 8:42 pm   #2
Suspended

MBNA does allow Canadian residents to apply for a US Credit Card, ie the Lufthansa Card without a US Address. Not sure about any other bank though.

FYI the Lufthansa card is only available in the US and is not offered through MBNA Canada.

------------------
Friends don't let friends fly Air Canada.
MapleLeaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 03, 9:28 pm   #3
FlyerTalk Evangelist

FlyerGoldII
I am with you on the Marriott card.
Have wanted one for years,alas I need a US address.
Old Oct 18, 03, 11:01 pm   #4

Very hard to do, especially because you are unlikely to have a suitable US 'credit score' without adequate presence/address/job/social security number there. I have a US SSN, suitable non-immigrant residency (L1) working visa, and substantive business operations/banking relationships in the US. My US bank suggested they might be able to pull strings to get a credit card, but could I live with a Visa debit card instead? So that 'works' for me -- but no true US credit card even now.
marbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 03, 9:18 am   #5

I don't know about this specific card, but I am sure the rules may vary.