Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Sign in using an external account

Old Feb 24, 03, 6:05 pm   #1

Operated by another Airline? Meaning...

I see some flights on the YYZ departures page as going to say Ottawa or Montreal. I see mostly AC but some Lufthansa and Mexicana. They say as Rapidair which is for AC. I know for a fact LH doesnt fly to YUL at all. Why do they display as that airline? Also what does Operated by an airline mean for something.

Thanks (I know I have many unimportant questions but I am curious to know the answers) I am a newbie at FT.
Old Feb 24, 03, 6:22 pm   #2

Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by fromYYZ_flyer:
I see some flights on the YYZ departures page as going to say Ottawa or Montreal. I see mostly AC but some Lufthansa and Mexicana. They say as Rapidair which is for AC. I know for a fact LH doesnt fly to YUL at all. Why do they display as that airline? Also what does Operated by an airline mean for something.

Thanks (I know I have many unimportant questions but I am curious to know the answers) I am a newbie at FT.
</font>
You newbie? Nah

What this means is that Lufthansa and Mexicana are selling seats on the operating carrier in this case AC. It's what we call a code share agreement.

They are all in Star Alliance so that's ok.

You'll find AC flight numbers on so many routes where AC never flies like LHR-BKK,
LHR-CPH, ORD-PHX, GRU-EZE etc

ACDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 03, 11:48 pm   #3

Another exampel is SK903 ARN-EWR which also have a UA,AC,MX and I also believe a LH flightnumber.
kempis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 03, 12:22 am   #4
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend and Moderator: Air Canada Aeroplan, Mileage Run & Manufactured Spending