Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Air Canada | Aeroplan
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 21, 12, 1:05 am   #46
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillTravel View Post
Wouldn't you have to pay foreign exchange fees (somewhere in the neighborhood of 2-3%) for using a Chase Sapphire card in Canada?
Chase Sapphire Preferred does not change foreign exchange as one of the benefits.
ml262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 1:06 am   #47
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 94
http://thepointsguy.com/2012/06/the-...nsaction-fees/
ml262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 6:14 am   #48
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: YYZ/KRK
Programs: UA*1K, A3*G, AS MVPG, BA Silver, CX Gold, IHG Plat, Marriott Gold, SPG Gold,Carlson Gold,Choice Gold
Posts: 14,480
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillTravel View Post

I earn miles on MileagePlus, but use CCs and promotions to earn Aeroplan points.

and the cost of the ticket is still less than the Aeroplan scamcharges, and you earn points on your purchased ticket.
That is excatly my strategy.
Until we have a UA card in Canada, AE is the easiest, and if used right, still can offer some value.

The 2nd line is exactly my point - the opportunity cost of not earning points is greater than the value you get by redeeming AE points + scamcharges, reaching the absurdity of the net equation actually being negative!!!
__________________
My FlightMemory 2013: 157973 BIS, 2014 YTD: 171352 All leisure travel 135 countries visited
rankourabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 7:01 am   #49
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: YEG✈YYC
Programs: UA 1K Hyatt◊/Hertz PC
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by rankourabu View Post
That is excatly my strategy.
Until we have a UA card in Canada, AE is the easiest, and if used right, still can offer some value.

The 2nd line is exactly my point - the opportunity cost of not earning points is greater than the value you get by redeeming AE points + scamcharges, reaching the absurdity of the net equation actually being negative!!!
+1

Switched over to earning miles on UA, waiting for UA/US credit card to dump Aeroplan CC's(Don't use aerogold or aeroamex anyways. SPG/MR only).
SKYEG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 7:45 am   #50
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto AC SE MM
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by anotheran2 View Post
Just priced a trip from YYZ to Rome on AP:

90K points + ~$600 ($460 in fuel surcharge) for First class on Luthansa via FRA

On AA:
200K points + $120 for First class on AA via JFK

the fuel surcharge is crazy. I'm seriously thinking of switching
Not sure I believe 90K for F, more like 125K...what are your dates?
Ramteid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 12:50 pm   #51
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: YXX
Programs: Amex Plat, Fairmont Plat, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, AA ExP
Posts: 213
I know you're just saying that as a general statement, but in case anyone was hoping/wishing/praying they could get Chase Sapphire or other US-based credit card, unless you have a US SSN, Canadians cannot get one as most, if not all, credit card applications require you to give your SSN or similar. If it was as easy as simply having US address to get a cc, we'd all dump the Canadian cards in a heartbeat

Quote:
Originally Posted by ml262 View Post
Chase Sapphire Preferred does not change foreign exchange as one of the benefits.
BradnerBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 5:46 pm   #52
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: none
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by BradnerBoy View Post
I know you're just saying that as a general statement, but in case anyone was hoping/wishing/praying they could get Chase Sapphire or other US-based credit card, unless you have a US SSN, Canadians cannot get one as most, if not all, credit card applications require you to give your SSN or similar. If it was as easy as simply having US address to get a cc, we'd all dump the Canadian cards in a heartbeat
I have a US SSN (dual citizen by birth). I don't have a US address, though. Is there a way to get the Chase Sapphire card in my case?
WillTravel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 6:35 pm   #53
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Wouldn't having a US CC cause trouble as you would need to pay in US dollars and converting your can dollars would cost you at the bank.
ismellforyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 6:38 pm   #54
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: YYZ/KRK
Programs: UA*1K, A3*G, AS MVPG, BA Silver, CX Gold, IHG Plat, Marriott Gold, SPG Gold,Carlson Gold,Choice Gold
Posts: 14,480
Quote:
Originally Posted by ismellforyou View Post
Wouldn't having a US CC cause trouble as you would need to pay in US dollars and converting your can dollars would cost you at the bank.
Unless the conversion is free, or under 2% - it would make no sense to earn miles - considering one can buy them at 2cpm from UA.

Anyway, I hope that this thread has demonstrated that Aeroplan has ceased to be a frequent flyer program - but a rewards program - and a lousy one at that - and if you are not careful - you are getting 1⁄4 cent value for a point - downright to negative value!
__________________
My FlightMemory 2013: 157973 BIS, 2014 YTD: 171352 All leisure travel 135 countries visited
rankourabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 6:54 pm   #55
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: De Winton, Alberta, Canada
Programs: Aeroplan
Posts: 922
Our strategy is to work all the accumulation angles and only redeem for long F trips. So Aeroplan miles still work for us. Haven't had to pay big yet, although this was the most expensive so far as it's usually been ~$130 each for our previous F trips. I imagine it'll only get worse in 2014. A good sign is how the bastages excluded MR points from their annual December transfer bonus deal.

Caveat is that we find the best deal in the general Jan.-Mar. timeframe and then book our holiday, not the other way around. Well at least Mrs. Ronintech does, as I'm self employed so my boss always says yes.
__________________
"We are experiencing technical difficulties. Please try again. When the error reoccurs, please call Aeroplan Contact Centre."
RoninTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 7:00 pm   #56
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: YYZ/KRK
Programs: UA*1K, A3*G, AS MVPG, BA Silver, CX Gold, IHG Plat, Marriott Gold, SPG Gold,Carlson Gold,Choice Gold
Posts: 14,480
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninTech View Post
Our strategy is to work all the accumulation angles and only redeem for long F trips. So Aeroplan miles still work for us.
How?? Isnt it 175k now for AE F awards? +$1000 in fees

US/UA rates are much lower.

And US miles sell for peanuts.
__________________
My FlightMemory 2013: 157973 BIS, 2014 YTD: 171352 All leisure travel 135 countries visited
rankourabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 8:34 pm   #57
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West
Posts: 1,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninTech View Post
Our strategy is to work all the accumulation angles and only redeem for long F trips. So Aeroplan miles still work for us. Haven't had to pay big yet, although this was the most expensive so far as it's usually been ~$130 each for our previous F trips. I imagine it'll only get worse in 2014. A good sign is how the bastages excluded MR points from their annual December transfer bonus deal.

Caveat is that we find the best deal in the general Jan.-Mar. timeframe and then book our holiday, not the other way around. Well at least Mrs. Ronintech does, as I'm self employed so my boss always says yes.
How do you do that flying from Calgary I presume? I have been searching for a flight to Europe in late spring early summer 2013 to Europe for 2 months now and can not find J for two seats for all segments and for sure not on AC.
1Newflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 10:46 pm   #58
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: De Winton, Alberta, Canada
Programs: Aeroplan
Posts: 922
I showed how in the link to our upcoming trip in my post. If i could get free UA or other US miles for free, I'd certainly consider other options. However since we can't and we've still been able to avoid the $camcharges through patience and flexibility, AE still works for us.
__________________
"We are experiencing technical difficulties. Please try again. When the error reoccurs, please call Aeroplan Contact Centre."
RoninTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 10:52 pm   #59
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West
Posts: 1,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninTech View Post
I showed how in the link to our upcoming trip in my post. If i could get free UA or other US miles for free, I'd certainly consider other options. However since we can't and we've still been able to avoid the $camcharges through patience and flexibility, AE still works for us.
You did. How is UA F like i never used the airline.
1Newflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 12, 11:03 pm   #60
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: De Winton, Alberta, Canada
Programs: Aeroplan
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Newflyer View Post
You did. How is UA F like i never used the airline.
They call the short border hop F but its not really. Its the longhaul flights that showcase an airlines true F. It ranks the lowest of those weve flown and im sure SQ wont dislodge it. That being said they are cheap if you cant find one of the better ones without the bogus gouging.
__________________
"We are experiencing technical difficulties. Please try again. When the error reoccurs, please call Aeroplan Contact Centre."
RoninTech is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 5:48 pm.