FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - The 2016 BA compensation thread: Your guide to Regulation 261/2004
Old Jul 18, 2016, 2:50 pm
lorcancoyle

Programs: BA GGL (for now) and Lifetime Gold, Marriott fan thanks to Bonvoy Moments
To start with, a big health warning: I am not a lawyer, I have no legal training, this post and the links are purely to provide insight into my experience taking a claim against Iberia through the full small claims court process to a county court hearing (and ultimate victory, albeit on something of an "away goals" basis...)

I've made all the documents I used (apart from photos) available here, with some redaction on case references, names etc. These include the "skeleton argument" I prepared for myself back in January, a brief critique of the Iberia defence, their last minute skeleton argument submitted to the court and my response.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B0...TlyWGhwSTkxdzA

Background / Timings
Overall this process took over 7 months.
- Flight in early December to MAD was delayed due to need to offload a bag, resulting in a missed connection to BCN and an overnight stay at Iberia's expense
- MCOL was filed just before Christmas
- Iberia defence was received in late January (after they acknowledged claim at pretty much the last minute - after telling me to use an incorrect address...)
- Directions questionnaires from both parties filed in early February (they wanted Uxbridge as venue, I wanted my local East London county court)
- After initially being allocated to a court in the City the case was transferred to my choice of court, with a Directions Order issued on 24th March and hearing date of 18th July
- Documents to be relied on in court were to be submitted no less than 14 days before the hearing

My approach